The Vermont Statutes Online
The Vermont Statutes Online have been updated to include the actions of the 2023 session of the General Assembly.
NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.
§ 1384. Civil action; recovery by Attorney General
(a) The Attorney General may bring an action for damages on behalf of the State against a person or caregiver who, with reckless disregard or with knowledge, violates section 1376 (abuse of a vulnerable adult), 1377 (abuse by unlawful restraint or confinement), 1378 (neglect of a vulnerable adult), 1380 (financial exploitation), or 1381 (exploitation of services) of this title, in addition to any other remedies provided by law, not to exceed the following:
(1) $5,000.00 if no bodily injury results;
(2) $10,000.00 if bodily injury results;
(3) $20,000.00 if serious bodily injury results; and
(4) $50,000.00 if death results.
(b) In a civil action brought under this section, the defendant shall have a right to a jury trial.
(c) A good faith report of abuse, neglect, exploitation, or suspicion thereof pursuant to 33 V.S.A. § 6902 or federal law shall not alone be sufficient evidence that a person acted in reckless disregard for purposes of subsection (a) of this section. (Added 2011, No. 141 (Adj. Sess.), § 1.)