The Vermont Statutes Online
The Vermont Statutes Online have been updated to include the actions of the 2023 session of the General Assembly.
NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.
§ 1376. Abuse
(a) A person who engages in conduct with an intent or reckless disregard that the conduct is likely to cause unnecessary harm, unnecessary pain, or unnecessary suffering to a vulnerable adult shall be imprisoned not more than one year or fined not more than $1,000.00, or both.
(b) A person who commits an assault, as defined in section 1023 of this title, with actual or constructive knowledge that the victim is a vulnerable adult, shall be imprisoned for not more than two years or fined not more than $2,000.00, or both.
(c) A person who commits an aggravated assault as defined in subdivision 1024(a)(1) or (2) of this title with actual or constructive knowledge that the victim is a vulnerable adult shall be imprisoned not more than 20 years or fined not more than $10,000.00, or both. (Added 2005, No. 79, § 2.)