The Vermont Statutes Online
NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.
NOTE: The online version of the Vermont Statutes does NOT yet include the actions of the 2023 legislative session. The 2023 updates should be available by the end of October.
§ 1106. Kickbacks; purchasing supplies
(a) An officer or agent of, or person employed by the State or a county, municipality, supervisory union school district, or public institution in this State, who, being authorized to procure material, supplies, or other articles by purchase or contract, or to employ service or labor, shall not corruptly, directly or indirectly, ask, demand, exact, solicit, seek, accept, receive, or agree to receive for himself or herself or for another, any benefit from the person who makes such contract, furnishes such material, supplies, or other articles, or from a person who renders service or labor under such contract, nor shall a person give or offer corruptly such benefit.
(b) A person who violates this section shall, if the benefit has a value of less than $500.00, be imprisoned not more than two years or fined not more than $5,000.00, or both. A person who violates this section shall, if the benefit is $500.00 or more in value, be imprisoned not more than five years or fined not more than $10,000.00, or both. (Amended 1987, No. 48, § 3.)