The Vermont Statutes Online
NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.
NOTE: The online version of the Vermont Statutes does NOT yet include the actions of the 2023 legislative session. The 2023 updates should be available by the end of October.
Subchapter 006 : DOMESTIC ASSAULTS(Cite as: 13 V.S.A. § 1043)
§ 1043. First degree aggravated domestic assault
(a) A person commits the crime of first degree aggravated domestic assault if the person:
(1) attempts to cause or willfully or recklessly causes serious bodily injury to a family or household member; or
(2) uses, attempts to use, or is armed with a deadly weapon and threatens to use the deadly weapon on a family or household member; or
(3) commits the crime of domestic assault and has been previously convicted of aggravated domestic assault.
(b) A person who commits the crime of first degree aggravated domestic assault shall be imprisoned not more than 15 years or fined not more than $25,000.00, or both.
(c) Conduct constituting the offense of first degree aggravated domestic assault under this section shall be considered a violent act for the purpose of determining bail. (Added 1993, No. 95, § 2.)