The Vermont Statutes Online
NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.
NOTE: The online version of the Vermont Statutes does NOT yet include the actions of the 2023 legislative session. The 2023 updates should be available by the end of October.
§ 502. First degree arson
A person who willfully and maliciously sets fire to or burns or causes to be burned, or who willfully and maliciously aids, counsels, or procures the burning of any dwelling house, whether occupied, unoccupied, or vacant, or any kitchen, shop, barn, stable, or other outhouse that is parcel thereof, or belonging, or adjoining thereto, whether the property of himself or herself or of another, shall be guilty of arson in the first degree, and shall be imprisoned not more than 10 years nor less than two years or fined not more than $2,000.00, or both. (Amended 1971, No. 199 (Adj. Sess.), § 15; 1981, No. 223 (Adj. Sess.), § 23.)