Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2023-2024 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

The Vermont Statutes Online does not include the actions of the 2024 session of the General Assembly. We expect them to be updated by November 1st.

NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.

Title 12 : Court Procedure

Chapter 217 : Emancipation of Minors

(Cite as: 12 V.S.A. § 7156)
  • § 7156. Effect of emancipation

    (a) The order of emancipation shall recognize the minor as an adult for all purposes that result from reaching the age of majority, including:

    (1) entering into a binding contract;

    (2) litigation and settlement of controversies, including the ability to sue and be sued;

    (3) buying or selling real property;

    (4) establishing a residence except that an emancipation order may not be used for the purpose of obtaining residency and in-state tuition or benefits at the University of Vermont or the Vermont State Colleges;

    (5) being prosecuted as an adult under the criminal laws of the State;

    (6) terminating parental support and control of the minor and their rights to the minor’s income;

    (7) terminating parental tort liability for minor; and

    (8) indicating the minor’s emancipated status on driver’s license or identification card issued by the State.

    (b) The order of emancipation shall not affect the status of the minor in the applicability of any provision of law that requires specific age requirements under the State or federal constitution or any State or federal law, including laws that require a person to be at least 18 years of age to marry and laws that prohibit the sale, purchase, or consumption of alcoholic beverages to or by a person under 21 years of age. (Added 1995, No. 145 (Adj. Sess.), § 1; amended 2017, No. 83, § 145; 2023, No. 8, § 2a, eff. July 1, 2023.)