Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2017-2018 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

Title 10 Appendix : Vermont Fish and Wildlife Regulations

Chapter 001 : GAME

Subchapter 001 : GENERAL PROVISIONS

(Cite as: 10 App. V.S.A. § 14)
  • § 14. Posting against hunting, fishing or trapping

    (a) Pursuant to 10 V.S.A. § 5201(b) the Fish & Wildlife Commissioner specifies that signs prohibiting the taking of fish or wild animals on land posted against such activity by the person or persons having the exclusive hunting, fishing and trapping rights thereto shall:

    (1) be not less than 8 1/2" x 11";

    (2) have lettering and background of contrasting colors;

    (3) state that hunting, fishing or trapping or any combination of the three are prohibited or forbidden;

    (4) be dated each year;

    (5) be erected on or near the boundaries of the posted land or waters, not more than 400 feet apart, and at each corner of the boundaries of posted land;

    (6) be annually recorded at the town clerk's office in the town where the posted land or waters is located, on a form provided by the Fish & Wildlife Commissioner, with a copy retained and a copy provided to the Commissioner; and

    (7) shall not be considered void if other language is added to the sign that is not covered by section 5201, as long as a reasonable person would understand that hunting, fishing or trapping are prohibited or forbidden.

    (b) Pursuant to 10 V.S.A. § 5201(b), signs restricting the taking of fish or wild animals on land "by permission only" by the person or persons having the exclusive hunting, fishing and trapping rights thereto shall:

    (1) be not less than 8 1/2" x 11";

    (2) have lettering and background of contrasting colors;

    (3) state that hunting, fishing, or trapping or any combination of the three is by "permission only";

    (4) be dated each year;

    (5) state the landowner's name and a method by which to contact the property owner or person authorized to provide permission to hunt on the property;

    (6) be erected on or near the posted land or waters, not more than 400 feet apart and at each corner of the boundaries of posted land;

    (7) be annually recorded at the town clerk's office in the town where the posted land or  waters are located, on a form provided by the Fish & Wildlife Commissioner, with a copy retained and a copy provided to the Commissioner; and

    (8) shall not be considered void if other language is added that is not expressly required by Section 5201, as long as a reasonable person would understand that hunting, fishing or trapping are prohibited or forbidden.

    (c) Pursuant to 10 V.S.A. § 5201(b) signs prohibiting the taking of fish shall also include the date the waters were last stocked, and shall be erected on or near the shores of the waters. To legally post a river or stream against fishing under Section 5201, the numbers of fish stocked must meet or exceed those specified in Section 5202. A stocking affidavit must also be filed with the Fish and Wildlife Commissioner and the town clerk of the town where stocked. (Added 1968, Fish and Game Commissioner's Reg. No. 762, eff. April 24, 1968; amended 1996, Fish and Wildlife Commissioner's Reg. No. 762, eff. Sept. 5, 1996; 2014, Regulation of the Secretary of Natural Resources, eff. Jan. 1, 2015.)