The Vermont Statutes Online
The Vermont Statutes Online have been updated to include the actions of the 2023 session of the General Assembly.
NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.
Subchapter 002 : Permits and Rules(Cite as: 10 V.S.A. § 6251)
§ 6251. Mobile home lot rent increase; notice; meeting
(a) A mobile home park owner shall provide written notification on a form provided by the Department to the Commissioner and all the affected mobile home park leaseholders of any lot rent increase no later than 60 days before the effective date of the proposed increase. The notice shall include all the following:
(1) the amount of the proposed lot rent increase, including any amount of the increase that is attributable to a surcharge for any capital improvements of the mobile home park pursuant to subsection (b) of this section, the estimated cost of the capital improvements, and the proposed duration of the surcharge prorated in 12-month increments sufficient to recover the estimated cost of the capital improvements;
(2) the effective date of the increase;
(3) a copy of the mobile home park leaseholder’s rights pursuant to this section and sections 6252 and 6253 of this title; and
(4) the percentage of increase from the current base lot rent.
(b) If the mobile home park owner requests a lot rent increase that includes a surcharge for any capital improvements, which, for the purposes of this section, include replacement or repair of any major infrastructure systems that exceed $2,500.00, the mobile home park owner shall submit to the Commissioner an affidavit stating the estimated costs of the improvements, the expected date of completion of the improvements, and the time frame required for the surcharge to provide for recovery of the cost of the improvements. The lot rent surcharge shall terminate when the park owner has recovered the cost of the capital improvements. A lot rent surcharge for capital improvements shall be implemented to minimize the financial burden on the mobile home park leaseholders.
(c) If the mobile home park owner fails to notify either the mobile home park leaseholders or the Commissioner of a lot rent increase as required by subsection (a) of this section, the proposed lot rent increase shall be ineffective and unenforceable. (Added 1995, No. 33, § 2, eff. June 1, 1995; amended 1997, No. 103 (Adj. Sess.), § 3, eff. April 23, 1998; 2011, No. 137 (Adj. Sess.), § 2, eff. May 14, 2012.)