The Vermont Statutes Online
The Vermont Statutes Online have been updated to include the actions of the 2023 session of the General Assembly.
NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.
Subchapter 002 : Permits and Rules(Cite as: 10 V.S.A. § 6248)
§ 6248. Abandonment of mobile home in mobile home park
(a) A resident or owner of a mobile home in a mobile home park shall be deemed to have abandoned the mobile home if all the following conditions exist:
(1)(A) a reasonable person would believe that the mobile home is not occupied as a residence;
(B) the rent for the lot is at least 30 days delinquent; and
(C) the park owner has attempted to contact the resident or owner at the resident or owner’s home, last known place of employment, and last known mailing address without success; or
(2) the owner of the mobile home has been evicted from the mobile home park pursuant to section 6237 of this title and the owner has failed to remove or sell the mobile home within three months after the execution of a writ of possession pursuant to 12 V.S.A. chapter 169 or as otherwise ordered by the court in the ejectment action.
(b) A mobile home park owner may not commence an action pursuant to section 6249 of this title to sell an abandoned mobile home on which there are delinquent property taxes until 20 days after the date the park owner sends notice of the park owner’s intent to commence the action to the town clerk and the tax collector of the town in which the mobile home is located by certified mail, return receipt requested. (Added 1993, No. 141 (Adj. Sess.), § 13, eff. May 6, 1994; amended 2015, No. 8, § 4.)