The Vermont Statutes Online
The Vermont Statutes Online have been updated to include the actions of the 2023 session of the General Assembly.
NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.
§ 5204. Poaching; private preserves
(a) A person who, without the written consent of the owner or person having the exclusive right to take fish or wild animals, takes fish, game, or other animals or carries or possesses a firearm, bow and arrow, or wild animal trap in private preserve as posted under section 5201 of this title or mutilates or defaces the notice called for in subsection 5201(b) of this title shall be fined not less than $25.00 nor more than $100.00.
(b) The owner or person in control of such private preserve may recover the actual damages sustained by him or her in a civil action on this statute. (Added 1961, No. 119, § 1, eff. May 9, 1961; amended 1967, No. 302 (Adj. Sess.), § 2, eff. March 20, 1968; 1969, No. 16, § 3, eff. March 11, 1969.)