The Vermont Statutes Online
The Vermont Statutes Online have been updated to include the actions of the 2023 session of the General Assembly.
NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.
§ 5007. Hunting black bear with dogs
(a) No person shall pursue black bear with the aid of dogs, either for training or taking purposes, without a permit issued by the Commissioner. The number of permits issued to nonresidents in any given year shall not exceed 10 percent of the number of permits issued to residents in the preceding year. The Commissioner shall establish a process for determining which nonresidents are to receive a permit if there are more nonresident applicants than nonresident permits. A nonresident may train dogs to hunt bear only while training season is in effect in the nonresident’s home state and subject to the laws and regulations of this State.
(b) Permits will be issued to residents for a fee of $50.00.
(c) Application fees for nonresidents shall be $10.00 with a permit fee of $200.00 for successful applicants. (Added 1989, No. 184 (Adj. Sess.); amended 1997, No. 155 (Adj. Sess.), § 50, eff. Jan. 1, 1999.)