The Vermont Statutes Online
Subchapter 002 : DEER(Cite as: 10 V.S.A. § 4742a)
§ 4742a. Youth deer hunting weekend
(a) The Saturday and Sunday prior to opening day of the regular deer season established by Board rule shall be youth deer hunting weekend.
(b) A person who is 15 years of age or under on the weekend of the hunt, who has successfully completed a hunter safety course, may take one wild deer during youth deer hunting weekend in accordance with the rules of the Board. In order to hunt under this section, a young person shall also hold a valid hunting license under section 4255 of this title, hold a youth deer hunting tag, and be accompanied by an unarmed adult who holds a valid Vermont hunting license and who is over 18 years of age. An adult accompanying a youth under this section shall accompany no more than two young people at one time.
(c) Each year, the Board shall determine whether antlerless deer may be taken under this section in any deer management unit or units. A determination under this subsection shall be made by rule, shall be based on the game management study conducted pursuant to section 4081 of this title, and, notwithstanding subsection (g) of that section, may allow taking of antlerless deer.
(d) No person shall hunt under this section on privately owned land without first obtaining the permission of the owner or occupant.
(e) Before the first youth deer hunting weekend and after each fall hunting season, the Department shall collect information on youth deer hunting weekend during the regional public hearings held pursuant to subsection 4081(f) of this title. Information relative to the public's knowledge and concerns about the deer herd shall be gathered. The Board shall administer youth deer hunting weekend, by deer management unit, based on public input and scientific information.
(f) The scheduled amount of a fine under section 4555 of this title shall be doubled for a violation of this section, and the fine shall be assessed against the licensed adult who is accompanying the youth pursuant to subsection (b) of this section and who has the youth hunter in his or her charge.
(g) As used in this section, "accompany," "accompanied," or "accompanying" means direct control and supervision, including the ability to see and communicate with the youth hunter without the aid of artificial devices such as radios or binoculars, except for medically necessary devices such as hearing aids or eyeglasses. While hunting, an individual who holds a valid hunting license under subsection 4254(b) of this title shall accompany no more than two youth hunters at a time. (Added 2001, No. 4, § 1, eff. April 4, 2001; amended 2009, No. 11, § 2; 2009, No. 122 (Adj. Sess.), § 1; 2013, No. 116 (Adj. Sess.), § 7, eff. Jan. 1, 2015.)