The Vermont Statutes Online
NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.
NOTE: The online version of the Vermont Statutes does NOT yet include the actions of the 2023 legislative session. The 2023 updates should be available by the end of October.
§ 4613. Fishing tournaments
(a) No person or organization shall hold a fishing tournament on the waters of the State without first obtaining a permit from the Department of Fish and Wildlife.
(b) A fishing tournament means a contest in which anglers pay a fee to enter and in which the entrants compete for a prize based on the quality or size of the fish they catch. A tournament that limits the entrants to people below 15 years of age or a tournament held as part of a Special Olympics program shall be exempt from paying the fee required under subsection (d) of this section.
(c) The Commissioner shall adopt rules that establish the procedure for implementation of this section. The rules shall include a provision that an angler may not enter a fish that was caught and confined to an enclosed area prior to the beginning of the tournament.
(d) The Commissioner shall charge a fee of $50.00 for each permit issued under this section and shall deposit the fee collected into the Fish and Wildlife Fund. (Added 1991, No. 161 (Adj. Sess.), § 2; amended 2003, No. 129 (Adj. Sess.), § 1; 2003, No. 163 (Adj. Sess.), § 15.)