The Vermont Statutes Online
The Vermont Statutes Online have been updated to include the actions of the 2023 session of the General Assembly.
NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.
Subchapter 001 : General Provisions(Cite as: 10 V.S.A. § 4520a)
§ 4520a. Notice and hearing requirements
(a) The Commissioner shall use the following procedures in assessing the penalty under section 4520 of this title: the Attorney General or an alleged violator shall be given an opportunity for a hearing after reasonable notice; and the notice shall be served by personal service or by certified mail, return receipt requested. The notice shall include:
(1) a statement of the legal authority and jurisdiction under which the hearing is to be held;
(2) a statement of the matter at issue, including reference to the particular statute allegedly violated and a factual description of the alleged violation;
(3) the amount of the proposed administrative penalty; and
(4) a warning that the decision shall become final and the penalty imposed if no hearing is requested within 15 days of receipt of the notice. The notice shall specify the requirements which shall be met in order to avoid being deemed to have waived the right to a hearing or the manner of payment if the person elects to pay the penalty and waive a hearing.
(b) Any person who receives notification pursuant to this section shall be deemed to have waived the right to a hearing unless, within 15 days of the receipt of the notice, the person requests a hearing in writing. If the person waives the right to a hearing, the Commissioner shall issue a final order finding the person in default and imposing the penalty. A copy of the final default order shall be sent to the violator by certified mail, return receipt requested.
(c) When an alleged violator requests a hearing in a timely fashion, the Commissioner shall hold the hearing pursuant to 3 V.S.A. chapter 25. (Added 2011, No. 54, § 6.)