The Vermont Statutes Online
The Vermont Statutes Online have been updated to include the actions of the 2023 session of the General Assembly.
NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.
Subchapter 001 : General Provisions(Cite as: 10 V.S.A. § 4514)
§ 4514. Possession of flesh of game; restitution
(a) When legally taken, the flesh of a fish or wild animal may be possessed for food for a reasonable time thereafter and such flesh may be transported and stored in a public cold storage plant. Nothing in this section shall authorize the possession of game birds or carcasses or parts thereof contrary to regulations made pursuant to the Migratory Bird Treaty Act.
(b) Any person convicted of illegally taking, destroying, or possessing wild animals or threatened or endangered species shall, in addition to other penalties provided under this chapter, pay restitution in the following amounts into the Fish and Wildlife Fund for each animal taken, destroyed, or possessed:
(1) Big game no more than $2,000.00 and no less than $200.00 for the first offense and no less than $500.00 each for a second or subsequent offense (2) Endangered or threatened species as no more than $2,000.00 and defined in section 5401 of this title no less than $500.00 each (3) Small game no more than $500.00 and no less than $50.00 each (4) Fish no more than $50.00 and no less than $25.00 each
(c) A person who damages or destroys a wildlife facsimile owned by the Department of Fish and Wildlife in violation of the requirements of part 4 of this title shall pay restitution for the replacement or repair of the decoy into the Fish and Wildlife Fund. (Added 1961, No. 119, § 1, eff. May 9, 1961; amended 1989, No. 205 (Adj. Sess.), § 2; 2011, No. 14, § 1, eff. July 1, 2012; 2015, No. 145 (Adj. Sess.), § 7.)