The Vermont Statutes Online
NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.
NOTE: The online version of the Vermont Statutes does NOT yet include the actions of the 2023 legislative session. The 2023 updates should be available by the end of October.
Subchapter 007 : UNIFORM FIRE PREVENTION TICKET(Cite as: 10 V.S.A. § 2672)
§ 2672. Complaint or information and summons
(a) In any case involving a violation of subsection 2645(a) or 2648(a) of this title, the complaint or information and summons shall be in the form known as the Uniform Fire Prevention Ticket. The Court Administrator shall prepare the form for the Uniform Fire Prevention Ticket. The Court Administrator shall be responsible for all Uniform Fire Prevention Tickets issued to fire wardens, and shall prepare or cause to be prepared records and reports relating to Uniform Fire Prevention Tickets. Any fire warden may void any Uniform Fire Prevention Ticket by so marking the ticket and returning it to the Court Administrator. A prosecuting attorney may issue, amend or dismiss a fire prevention complaint.
(b) The Uniform Fire Prevention Ticket shall consist of four parts:
(1) the complaint or information, which shall include spaces for the signatures of the fire warden or other issuing officer, prosecuting attorney, and judge or clerk;
(2) the fire warden’s or issuing officer’s record, which shall be a copy of the complaint or information;
(3) the prosecutor’s record, which shall be a copy of the complaint or information; and
(4) the summons, which shall include a copy of the complaint or information, a waiver, and an explanation of rights.
(c) The reverse sides of the sheets shall be as set out in the form, with additions or deletions as are necessary to adapt the uniform fire prevention complaint to the court involved.
(d) The ticket shall contain the following two paragraphs that shall be prominently printed in boldfaced type:
(1) Failure to comply with the instructions on this ticket will result in a fine of up to $25.00 for each day of noncompliance.
(2) If you admit you have committed a fire prevention offense or are judged to have committed the offense you may be subject to a fine of up to $25.00 for each day of noncompliance.
(e) The Uniform Fire Prevention Ticket form shall be used in all cases involving violations of subsection 2645(a) or 2648(a) of this title, whether the case is prosecuted or the complaint issued by a fire warden or by any other person, or upon information or complaint issued by the State’s Attorney or other prosecuting officer. (Added 1987, No. 107, § 3.)