Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2023-2024 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

The Vermont Statutes Online have been updated to include the actions of the 2023 session of the General Assembly.

NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.

Title 10 : Conservation and Development

Chapter 059 : Underground and Aboveground Liquid Storage Tanks

Subchapter 001 : Underground Storage Tank Regulation

(Cite as: 10 V.S.A. § 1935)
  • § 1935. Penalties

    (a) Criminal penalty. Any person who knowingly or intentionally violates any provision of this chapter or the rules promulgated herein, or any permits or any order standards issued in accordance with this chapter shall be subject to a criminal penalty not to exceed $25,000 or imprisonment for not more than six months, or both.

    (b) Civil penalty. Any person who violates any provision of this chapter, the rules adopted pursuant to this chapter, or the terms and conditions of any order or permit issued by the Secretary, shall be subject to a civil penalty not to exceed $10,000.00 per storage tank.

    (c) Violations. Each violation may be a separate and distinct offense and in the case of a continuing violation, each day’s continuance of the violation may be deemed a separate and distinct offense. (Added 1985, No. 66, § 1; amended 1989, No. 110, § 7, eff. June 20, 1989; 2019, No. 14, § 42, eff. April 30, 2019; 2021, No. 20, § 48.)