Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2023-2024 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

The Vermont Statutes Online have been updated to include the actions of the 2023 session of the General Assembly.

NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.

Title 10 : Conservation and Development

Chapter 021 : Tourist Information Services

(Cite as: 10 V.S.A. § 493)
  • § 493. On-premises signs

    Owners or occupants of real property may erect and maintain on the property on-premises signs advertising the sale or lease of the property or activities being conducted on the property. Those signs shall be subject to the regulations set forth below.

    (1) On-premises signs may be erected or maintained, with a total area of not more than 150 square feet, advertising activities being conducted on the same premises. However, this limitation does not apply to signs existing on May 1, 1971, or attached to or part of the building in which the activities are being carried on. An on-premises sign shall not be located more than 1,500 feet from a main entrance from the highway to the activity or premises advertised. The 1,500-foot distance shall be measured along the centerline of the highway or highways between the sign and a main entrance or a straight line, but only if the difference in elevation between the on-premises sign and a main entrance is more than 100 feet. A main entrance shall be a principal, private roadway or driveway that leads from a public highway to the advertised activity. For the purposes of this subdivision, premises shall not include land that is separated from the activity by a public highway or other intervening land use not related to the advertised activity. Undeveloped land or farmland shall not be considered as an intervening land use.

    (2) A sign advertising the sale or lease of real estate by the owner or an agent shall not have an area of more than six square feet, including the panel and the frame. Signs attached to “for sale” or “for lease” signs that state “sold,” “sale pending,” “sale under contract,” or similar messages shall not be permitted.

    (3) A permitted on-premises sign shall not extend more than 25 feet above the ground level or, if the sign is attached to or is part of a building, 10 feet above the roof of the building. However, this limitation does not apply to signs existing on November 1, 1967. (Added 1967, No. 333 (Adj. Sess.), § 13, eff. March 23, 1968; amended 1969, No. 92, § 10, eff. April 19, 1969; 1971, No. 115, § 2, eff. April 26, 1971; 1983, No. 167 (Adj. Sess.), § 8; 1993, No. 121 (Adj. Sess.), § 8; 2021, No. 184 (Adj. Sess.), § 37, eff. July 1, 2022.)