Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2023-2024 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

The Vermont Statutes Online have been updated to include the actions of the 2023 session of the General Assembly.

NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.

Title 9 : Commerce and Trade

Chapter 137 : Residential Rental Agreements

Subchapter 002 : Residential Rental Agreements

(Cite as: 9 V.S.A. § 4462)
  • § 4462. Abandonment; unclaimed property

    (a) A tenant has abandoned a dwelling unit if:

    (1) there are circumstances that would lead a reasonable person to believe that the dwelling unit is no longer occupied as a full-time residence;

    (2) rent is not current; and

    (3) the landlord has made reasonable efforts to ascertain the tenant’s intentions.

    (b) If the tenant abandons the dwelling unit, the tenant shall remain liable for rent until the expiration of the rental agreement. However, if the landlord rents the dwelling unit before the expiration of the rental agreement, the agreement terminates on the date of the new tenancy.

    (c)(1) If any property, except trash, garbage, or refuse, is unclaimed by a tenant who has abandoned a dwelling unit, the landlord shall give written notice to the tenant mailed to the tenant’s last known address that the landlord intends to dispose of the property after 60 days if the tenant has not claimed the property and paid any reasonable storage and other fees incurred by the landlord. The landlord shall place the property in a safe, dry, secured location, but may dispose of any trash, garbage, or refuse left by the tenant. The tenant may claim the property by providing the landlord with the following within 60 days after the date of the notice:

    (A) a reasonable written description of the property; and

    (B) payment of the fair and reasonable cost of storage and any related reasonable expenses incurred by the landlord.

    (2) If the tenant does not claim the property within the required time, the property shall become the property of the landlord. If the tenant claims the property within the required time, the landlord shall immediately make the property available to the tenant at a reasonable place and the tenant shall take possession of the property at that time and place.

    (d) Any personal property remaining in the dwelling unit or leased premises after the tenant has vacated may be disposed of by the landlord without notice or liability to the tenant or owner of the personal property, provided that one of the following has occurred:

    (1) The tenant provided actual notice to the landlord that the tenant has vacated the dwelling unit or leased premises.

    (2) The tenant has vacated the dwelling unit or leased premises at the end of the rental agreement. (Added 1985, No. 175 (Adj. Sess.), § 1; amended 1999, No. 115 (Adj. Sess.), § 1; 2007, No. 176 (Adj. Sess.), § 46.)