The Vermont Statutes Online
§ 4074. Repurchase terms
(a)(1) Within 90 days from receipt of the written request of the dealer, a supplier under the duty to repurchase inventory pursuant to section 4073 of this title may examine any books or records of the dealer to verify the eligibility of any item for repurchase.
(2) Except as otherwise provided in this chapter, the supplier shall repurchase from the dealer the following items that the dealer previously purchased from the supplier, or other qualified vendor approved by the supplier, that are in the possession of the dealer on the date of termination of the dealer agreement:
(A) inventory; and
(B) required signage, special tools, books, manuals, supplies, data processing equipment, and software.
(b) The supplier shall pay the dealer:
(1) 100 percent of the net cost of all new, undamaged, and complete inventory, other than repair parts, purchased from the supplier within the 30-month period preceding the date of termination, less a reasonable allowance for deterioration attributable to weather exposure at the dealer's location.
(2) 100 percent of the current net prices of all new and undamaged repair parts.
(3) 95 percent of the current net prices of all new and undamaged superseded repair parts.
(4) 95 percent of the latest available published net price of all new and undamaged noncurrent repair parts.
(5) Either the fair market value, or the supplier shall assume the lease responsibilities of, any specific data processing hardware that the supplier required the dealer to purchase to satisfy the reasonable requirements of the dealer agreement, including computer systems equipment and software required and approved by the supplier to communicate with the supplier.
(6) 75 percent of the net cost of specialized repair tools, signage, books, and supplies previously purchased, pursuant to requirements of the supplier and held by the dealer on the date of termination.
(7) Average as-is value shown in current industry guides for dealer-owned rental fleet financed by the supplier or its finance subsidiary, provided the equipment was purchased from the supplier within 30 months of the date of termination.
(c) The party that initiates the termination of the dealer agreement shall pay the cost of the return, handling, packing, and loading of the inventory. If the termination is initiated by the supplier, the supplier shall reimburse the dealer five percent of the net parts return credited to the dealer as compensation for picking, handling, packing, and shipping the parts returned to the supplier.
(d) Payment to the dealer required under this section shall be made by the supplier not later than 45 days after receipt of the inventory by the supplier. A penalty shall be assessed in the amount of daily interest at the current New York prime rate plus three percent of any outstanding balance over the required 45 days. The supplier shall be entitled to apply any payment required under this section to be made to the dealer as a setoff against any amount owed by the dealer to the supplier. (Added 1993, No. 113 (Adj. Sess.), § 1, eff. March 4, 1994; amended 2015, No. 142 (Adj. Sess.), § 2.)