The Vermont Statutes Online
The Vermont Statutes Online have been updated to include the actions of the 2023 session of the General Assembly.
NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.
§ 4002. Owner’s payment obligations
(a) The owner shall pay the contractor strictly in accordance with the terms of the construction contract.
(b) In the event that the construction contract does not contain a term governing the terms of payment, the contractor shall be entitled to invoice the owner for progress payments at the end of the billing period. The contractor shall be entitled to submit a final invoice for payment in full upon completion of the agreed-upon work.
(c) Except as otherwise agreed, payment of interim and final invoices shall be due from the owner 20 days after end of billing period or 20 days after delivery of invoice, whichever is later.
(d) Except as otherwise agreed, if any progress or final payment to a contractor is delayed beyond the due date established in subsection (c) of this section, the owner shall pay the contractor interest, beginning on the 21st day, at an interest rate equal to that established by 12 V.S.A. § 2903(b), on such unpaid balance as may be due. (Added 1991, No. 74, § 1, eff. Jan. 1, 1992.)