Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2023-2024 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

The Vermont Statutes Online have been updated to include the actions of the 2023 session of the General Assembly.

NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.

Title 9 : Commerce and Trade

Chapter 077 : Smoke Detectors and Carbon Monoxide Detectors

(Cite as: 9 V.S.A. § 2883)
  • § 2883. Requirements for transfer of dwelling

    (a) The seller of a single-family dwelling, including one constructed for first occupancy, whether the transfer is by sale or exchange, shall certify to the buyer at the closing of the transaction that the dwelling is provided with photoelectric-only-type smoke detectors and carbon monoxide detectors in accordance with this chapter. This certification shall be signed and dated by the seller.

    (b) If the buyer notifies the seller within 10 days by certified mail from the date of conveyance of the dwelling that the dwelling lacks any photoelectric-only-type smoke detectors, or any carbon monoxide detectors, or that any detector is not operable, the seller shall comply with this chapter within 10 days after notification.

    (c) Violation of this section or of the installation requirements of section 2882 of this title shall not create a defect in title. (Added 1993, No. 86 § 1; amended 2005, No. 19, § 1, eff. July 1, 2005; 2007, No. 180 (Adj. Sess.), § 3, eff. May 29, 2008.)