The Vermont Statutes Online
The statutes were updated in November, 2018, and contain all actions of the
2018 legislative session.
Subchapter 001 : GENERAL PROVISIONS(Cite as: 9 V.S.A. § 2464b)
§ 2464b. Registration of telemarketers
(a) Every telemarketer shall register with the Secretary of State, on a form approved by the Secretary. In the case of a telemarketer who hires, whether on an hourly, commission, or independent contractor basis, one or more persons to conduct telephone solicitations, only the person who causes others to conduct telephone solicitations need register. The Secretary of State may adopt rules prescribing the manner in which registration under this section shall be conducted, including a requirement of notice to the Secretary by the telemarketer when the telemarketer ceases to do business in Vermont.
(b) The Secretary of State shall require that each telemarketer designate an agent for the purpose of submitting to the jurisdiction of the Vermont courts in any action brought for violations of section 2464a of this title.
(c) The Secretary of State shall collect the following fees when a document described in this section is delivered to the Office of the Secretary of State for filing:
(1) Registration: $125.00.
(2) Statement of change of designated agent or designated office, or both: $25.00, not to exceed $1,000.00 per filer per calendar year. (Added 2001, No. 120 (Adj. Sess.), § 2; amended 2013, No. 72, § 2.)