The Vermont Statutes Online
The Vermont Statutes Online have been updated to include the actions of the 2023 session of the General Assembly.
NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.
Subchapter 003 : Wage Liens(Cite as: 9 V.S.A. § 1972)
§ 1972. Preference for wage liens
If a person or company is compelled to stop business by reason of an attachment upon mesne process and does not resume business within 30 days thereafter, an employee to whom such person or company is indebted for wages may attach the same property upon his or her debt. Such attachment shall take precedence over such prior attachment to an amount not exceeding $50.00 if made before sale thereof on execution.