The Vermont Statutes Online
The Vermont Statutes Online have been updated to include the actions of the 2023 session of the General Assembly.
NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.
Subchapter 002 : Artisan's Liens(Cite as: 9 V.S.A. § 1952)
§ 1952. Enforcement by sale
When the debt secured thereby remains unpaid for three months after such lien attaches, the person having such lien, except as provided in section 1954 of this title, may sell such property at public auction in the town where such lien accrues. Notice of the time, place, and purpose of such sale shall be posted in two or more public places in such town at least 10 days prior thereto, and he or she may apply the proceeds of such sale to the satisfaction of the debt due him or her and the expenses of such sale. The surplus remaining shall be paid to the proper owner thereof within 10 days thereafter, or deposited for his or her benefit in the treasury of the town where the sale occurs.