The Vermont Statutes Online
The Vermont Statutes Online have been updated to include the actions of the 2023 session of the General Assembly.
NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.
Subchapter 001 : Organization and Commencing Business(Cite as: 8 V.S.A. § 31103)
§ 31103. Requirements to commence business; minimum initial share deposits; certificate of authority
(a) At the time the certificate of approval is issued, the Commissioner shall issue an order granting permission to organize that shall set forth the minimum amount of share deposits that the credit union will be required to have to commence business, which in no event shall be less than $25,000.00.
(b) The Commissioner may, in particular cases, require different minimum share deposit requirements for different credit unions, and in determining the minimum amount of share deposits for a proposed credit union, may consider such factors as the population of the area where the proposed credit union is to be located, the field of membership for the proposed credit union, competition in that locale, the projected volume and type of business to be conducted, the inherent risks in the business to be conducted, and the need to protect members and other creditors of the credit union.
(c) All share deposits shall be in the form of cash or pledges, unless otherwise approved by the Commissioner.
(d) Upon receipt of a certificate of approval pursuant to section 31102 of this title, the organizers set forth in the application for permission to organize shall hold the credit union’s charter until such time as the requirements of this subchapter are met or the Commissioner determines that said requirements have not been met.
(e)(1) Within 30 days of receipt of a certificate of approval pursuant to section 31102 of this title, the first meeting of the organizers of the credit union shall be called by a notice signed by the organizer or organizers, if any were designated in the application for that purpose, or by a majority of the organizers. Such notice shall state the time, place, and purposes of the meeting. A copy of the notice shall be given to each organizer at least three days before the date appointed for the meeting, or left at each organizer’s residence or usual place of business, or deposited in the post office and addressed to such organizer at that organizer’s residence or usual place of business, and another copy thereof, together with an affidavit of one of the organizers that the notice has been duly served, shall be recorded with the records of the credit union. If all the organizers, in writing indorsed upon the application to organize, waive such notice and fix the time, place, and purposes of the meeting, no notice is required.
(2) At such meeting or at any adjournment thereof, the organizers shall by ballot select a temporary secretary, adopt the organizational documents of the credit union, and, in such manner as the internal governance document or the law provides, elect directors and officers. All persons so elected shall qualify for their offices as provided in subchapter 3 of this chapter.
(3) The temporary secretary shall make and attest to a record of the proceedings until the secretary has been chosen and sworn, including a record of such choice and qualification.
(4) The secretary shall file copies of the organizational documents with the Commissioner within 10 days after their adoption. Within 15 business days of receipt, the Commissioner shall, after examining such organizational documents for conformance with the requirements of this title and other applicable law, approve or disapprove the filed documents. (Added 2005, No. 16, § 1, eff. July 1, 2005.)