The Vermont Statutes Online
The Vermont Statutes Online have been updated to include the actions of the 2023 session of the General Assembly.
NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.
Subchapter 003 : Formal Proceedings(Cite as: 8 V.S.A. § 7078)
§ 7078. Disputed claims
(a) When a claim is denied in whole or in part by the liquidator, written notice of the determination shall be given to the claimant or the claimant’s attorney by first-class mail at the address shown in the proof of claim. Within 60 days from the mailing of the notice, the claimant may file objections with the liquidator. If no such filing is made, the claimant may not further object to the determination.
(b) Whenever objections are filed with the liquidator and the liquidator does not alter his or her denial of the claim as a result of the objections, the liquidator shall ask the court for a hearing as soon as practicable and give notice of the hearing by first-class mail to the claimant or the claimant’s attorney and to any other persons directly affected, not less than ten nor more than 30 days before the date of the hearing. The matter may be heard by the court or by a court-appointed referee who shall submit findings of fact along with a recommendation. (Added 1991, No. 45, § 2, eff. May 29, 1991.)