Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2023-2024 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

The Vermont Statutes Online have been updated to include the actions of the 2023 session of the General Assembly.

NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.

Title 8 : Banking and Insurance

Chapter 143 : Insurance Premium Finance Companies

(Cite as: 8 V.S.A. § 7010)
  • § 7010. Return premiums

    Whenever a financed insurance contract is cancelled, the insurer shall return whatever gross unearned premiums are due under the insurance contract directly to the insurance premium finance company for the account of the insured or insureds as soon as reasonably possible, but in no event shall the period for payment exceed 60 days after the effective date of cancellation of the insurance contract. In the event that the crediting of return premiums to the account of the insured results in a surplus over the amount due from the insured, the insurance premium finance company shall refund such excess to the insured provided that no such refund shall be required if it amounts to less than $1.00, unless specifically requested by the insured. (Added 1983, No. 77, § 1.)