The Vermont Statutes Online
Subchapter 002 : CANCELLATION OF POLICIES(Cite as: 8 V.S.A. § 4224)
§ 4224. Notice of cancellation
(a) No notice of cancellation of a policy of insurance to which section 4223 of this title applies or of a policy issued under the Vermont Automobile Insurance Plan shall be effective unless mailed or delivered by the insurer to the named insured at least 45 days prior to the effective date of cancellation; provided, however, that where cancellation is for nonpayment of premium, at least 15 days' notice of cancellation shall be given.
(b) In all instances, the reason or reasons for cancellation shall accompany or be included in the notice of cancellation. An insurer shall not be held liable in any claim or suit for damages arising solely from the insurer's compliance with the requirement that the reason for cancellation be specified.
(c) This section shall not apply to nonrenewal. (Added 1971, No. 195 (Adj. Sess.), § 3, amended 1977, No. 223 (Adj. Sess.),§§ 2, 3; 1989, No. 171 (Adj. Sess.), § 6, eff. Sept. 1, 1990.)