The Vermont Statutes Online
The Vermont Statutes Online have been updated to include the actions of the 2023 session of the General Assembly.
NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.
Subchapter 002 : Health Maintenance Organization Guaranty Association [Repealed](Cite as: 8 V.S.A. § 4181)
§§ 4181-4185. Repealed. 2023, No. 32, § 8, eff. July 1, 2023.
(Added 1993, No. 30, § 15, eff. May 21, 1993; repealed by 2023, No. 32, § 8, eff. July 1, 2023.)
§ 4181. Duties and powers of the Commissioner
(a) In addition to the duties and powers enumerated elsewhere in this chapter, the Commissioner shall:
(1) Upon the request of the Board of Directors, provide the Association with a statement of the premiums in Vermont and in any other appropriate states for each member insurer.
(2) Notify the Board of Directors of the existence of an impaired or insolvent insurer not later than three days after a determination of impairment or insolvency is made or the Commissioner receives notice of impairment or insolvency.
(3) When an impairment is declared and the amount of the impairment is determined, serve a demand upon the impaired insurer to make good the impairment within a reasonable time. Notice to the impaired insurer shall constitute notice to its shareholders, if any. The failure of the impaired insurer to promptly comply with such demand shall not excuse the Association from the performance of its powers and duties under this chapter.
(4) In any liquidation or rehabilitation proceeding involving a domestic insurer, be appointed as the liquidator or rehabilitator. If a foreign or alien member insurer is subject to a liquidation proceeding in its domiciliary jurisdiction or state of entry, the Commissioner shall be appointed conservator.
(b) The Commissioner may suspend or revoke, after notice and hearing, the certificate of authority to transact business in Vermont of any member insurer that fails to pay an assessment when due or fails to comply with the plan of operation. As an alternative, the Commissioner may levy a forfeiture on any member insurer that fails to pay an assessment when due. Such forfeiture shall not exceed five percent of the unpaid assessment per month, but no forfeiture shall be less than $500.00 per month.
(c) A final action of the Board of Directors or the Association may be appealed to the Commissioner by a member insurer if such appeal is taken within 60 days following its receipt of notice of the final action being appealed. A final action or order of the Commissioner shall be subject to judicial review in the Vermont Supreme Court.
(d) The liquidator, rehabilitator, or conservator of any impaired or insolvent insurer may notify all interested persons of the effect of this chapter. (Added 2023, No. 32, § 9, eff. July 1, 2023.)