The Vermont Statutes Online
NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.
NOTE: The online version of the Vermont Statutes does NOT yet include the actions of the 2023 legislative session. The 2023 updates should be available by the end of October.
§ 4108. Filing, approval, and withdrawal of forms
(a) All forms of policies or contracts, certificates of insurance, notices of proposed insurance, applications for insurance, endorsements, and riders shall be filed with the Commissioner for approval prior to issuance or use by the insurer. Each such filing shall be accompanied by a payment to the Commissioner of a nonrefundable fee of $50.00 per filing submission.
(b) The Commissioner shall, within 30 days after the filing of any such policies, certificates of insurance, notices of proposed insurance, applications for insurance, endorsements, and riders, disapprove any such form if the benefits provided therein are not reasonable in relation to the premium charge, or if it contains provisions which are unjust, unfair, inequitable, misleading, deceptive, or encourage misrepresentation of the coverage, or are contrary to any provision of the insurance law or of any rule or regulation promulgated thereunder.
(c) If the Commissioner notifies the insurer that the form is disapproved, it is unlawful thereafter for such insurer to issue or use such form. In such notice, the Commissioner shall specify the reason for his or her disapproval and state that a hearing will be granted within 20 days after request in writing by the insurer. No such policy, certificate of insurance, notice of proposed insurance, nor any application, endorsement, or rider, shall be issued or used until the expiration of 30 days after it has been so filed, unless the Commissioner shall give his or her prior written approval thereto.
(d) The Commissioner may, at any time after a hearing held not less than 20 days after written notice to the insurer, withdraw his or her approval of any such form on any ground set forth in subsection (b) above. The written notice of such hearing shall state the reason for the proposed withdrawal.
(e) It is not lawful for the insurer to issue such forms or use them after the effective date of such withdrawal.
(f) Any order or final determination of the Commissioner under the provisions of this section shall be subject to judicial review. (Added 1959, No. 221, § 7; amended 1985, No. 236 (Adj. Sess.), § 7; 1991, No. 166 (Adj. Sess.), § 3.)