The Vermont Statutes Online
NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.
NOTE: The online version of the Vermont Statutes does NOT yet include the actions of the 2023 legislative session. The 2023 updates should be available by the end of October.
Subchapter 001 : GENERALLY(Cite as: 8 V.S.A. § 4089d)
§ 4089d. Coverage; dependent children
(a) As used in this section, “health insurance plan” has the same meaning as “group health plan” and shall be subject to the same excepted benefits, in each case, as set forth in 45 C.F.R. § 146.145, as in effect as of December 31, 2017.
(b) A health insurance plan that provides dependent coverage of children shall continue to make that coverage available for an adult child until the child attains 26 years of age, provided that this subsection shall not apply to a plan providing coverage for a specified disease or other limited benefit coverage, and further provided that nothing in this subsection shall require a plan to make coverage available for the child of a child receiving dependent coverage.
(c)(1) A health insurance plan that provides for terminating the coverage of a dependent child upon attainment of the limiting age for dependent children specified in the policy shall not limit or restrict coverage with respect to an unmarried child who:
(A) is incapable of self-sustaining employment by reason of a mental or physical disability that has been found to be a disability that qualifies or would qualify the child for benefits using the definitions, standards, and methodology in 20 C.F.R. Part 404, Subpart P;
(C) is chiefly dependent upon the employee, member, subscriber, or policyholder for support and maintenance.
(2) Coverage under subdivision (1) of this subsection shall not be denied any person based upon the existence of such a condition; however a health insurance plan may require reasonable periodic proof of a continuing condition no more frequently than once every year.
(B) became so incapable prior to attainment of the limiting age; and
(d) A health insurance plan that covers dependent children who are full-time college students beyond 18 years of age shall include coverage for a dependent’s medically necessary leave of absence from school for a period not to exceed 24 months or the date on which coverage would otherwise end pursuant to the terms and conditions of the policy or coverage, whichever comes first, except that coverage may continue under subsection (b) of this section as appropriate. To establish entitlement to coverage under this subsection, documentation and certification by the student’s treating physician of the medical necessity of a leave of absence shall be submitted to the insurer or, for self-insured plans, the health plan administrator. The health insurance plan may require reasonable periodic proof from the student’s treating physician that the leave of absence continues to be medically necessary. (Added 1975, No. 237 (Adj. Sess.), § 1, eff. April 7, 1976; amended 1983, No. 165 (Adj. Sess.), § 2; 2005, No. 199 (Adj. Sess.), § 1; 2019, No. 63, § 5, eff. Jan. 1, 2020; 2019, No. 103 (Adj. Sess.), § 27.)