The Vermont Statutes Online
NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.
NOTE: The online version of the Vermont Statutes does NOT yet include the actions of the 2023 legislative session. The 2023 updates should be available by the end of October.
Subchapter 003 : CHECK CASHING AND CURRENCY EXCHANGE(Cite as: 8 V.S.A. § 2519)
§ 2519. Activities of check cashers and currency exchanges
(a) Check cashing.
(1) A licensee, in every location conducting business under a license issued pursuant to this chapter, shall conspicuously post and at all times display a notice stating all fees charged. A licensee shall file with the Commissioner a statement of the fees charged at every location licensed for services offered there.
(2) Before a licensee shall deposit, with any financial institution, a payment instrument that is cashed by a licensee, each such item shall be endorsed with the actual name under which such licensee is doing business. Additionally, the words “Licensed Check Cashing Business” must be written legibly or stamped immediately after or below the name of the endorser.
(3) A licensee shall comply with all applicable federal statutes governing currency transaction reporting.
(4) A licensee may not alter or delete any information on any payment instrument cashed.
(5) A licensee shall issue a receipt for each check cashing transaction upon request. The receipt shall include, among other matters the licensee may desire to include, the amount of the payment instrument and the total fee charged.
(6) A licensee shall not impose any fee or other charge for bad checks other than as expressly permitted under the provisions of 9 V.S.A. §§ 2311 and 2312.
(7) Within 10 business days after being advised by the payor financial institution that a payment instrument has been altered, forged, stolen, obtained through fraudulent or illegal means, negotiated without proper legal authority, or represents the proceeds of illegal activity, the licensee shall notify the police department in the city or town where the payment instrument was cashed. If a payment instrument is returned to the licensee by the payor financial institution for any of the aforementioned reasons, the licensee may not release or destroy the payment instrument without the consent of the city or town police department, or other investigative law enforcement authority.
(8) No licensee shall issue coupons, gift certificates, or tokens to be used in lieu of money when cashing a payment instrument.
(9) No licensee shall require the customer to receive payment by a method which causes the customer to pay additional or further fees and charges to the licensee or other person, and no licensee shall charge or receive any other charges or fees in addition to the fees listed in this chapter.
(10) A licensee shall pay to every customer tendering a payment instrument to be cashed the entire face amount of such instrument in cash, less any charges permitted by this section, on the same date upon which such instrument is presented to the licensee.
(11) A licensee is prohibited from requiring that a customer cash two or more separate checks in a manner to avoid the limitations on the fees as set forth in this section.
(12) No check casher shall:
(A) charge check cashing fees, except as otherwise provided in this chapter, in excess of five percent of the face amount of the payment instrument or $5.00, whichever is greater;
(B) charge check cashing fees in excess of three percent of the face amount of the payment instrument, or $2.00, whichever is greater, if such payment instrument is the payment of any kind of state public assistance or federal Social Security benefit, if the customer cashing the payment instrument is the named payee of such payment instrument; or
(C) charge check cashing fees for personal checks or money orders in excess of 10 percent of the face amount of the personal check or money order or $5.00, whichever is less.
(13) No licensee shall agree to hold a payment instrument for later deposit. No licensee shall cash or advance any money on a postdated payment instrument.
(14) Licensees may charge a customer with a one-time membership fee not to exceed $10.00.
(b) Currency exchange:
(1) The rate of exchange and fees charged by a licensee for rendering currency exchange services shall be prominently displayed to the public at each business location.
(2) Licensees shall provide each customer with a written receipt sufficient to identify the transaction, the licensee, the rate of exchange, the fees charged and the amount of currency exchanged. (Added 2001, No. 55, § 1, eff. Jan. 1, 2002.)