Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2023-2024 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

 

Title 7 : Alcoholic Beverages, Cannabis, and Tobacco

Chapter 040 : TOBACCO PRODUCTS

(Cite as: 7 V.S.A. § 1002a)
  • § 1002a. Licensee education

    (a) An applicant for a tobacco license that does not hold a liquor license issued under this title shall be granted a tobacco license pursuant to section 1002 of this title only after the applicant has attended a Division of Liquor Control in-person seminar or completed the appropriate Division of Liquor Control online training program for the purpose of being informed about the Vermont tobacco laws pertaining to the purchase, storage, and sale of tobacco products. A corporation, partnership, or association shall designate a director, partner, or manager to comply with the requirements of this subsection.

    (b) The holder of a tobacco license that does not also hold a liquor license issued pursuant to this title for the same premises shall:

    (1) Complete the Division’s in-person or online enforcement seminar at least once every two years. A corporation, partnership, or association shall designate a director, partner, or manager to comply with this subdivision.

    (2) Ensure that every employee involved in the sale of tobacco products completes a Division of Liquor Control in-person or online training program or other training programs approved by the Division before the employee begins selling or providing tobacco products and at least once every 24 months thereafter. A licensee may comply with this subdivision by conducting its own training program on its premises using information and materials furnished by the Division of Liquor Control. A licensee that fails to comply with the requirements of this subsection shall be subject to suspension of its tobacco license for not less than one day or a fine of not more than $100.00, or both.

    (3) Fees for Division of Liquor Control in-person and online seminars for tobacco only shall be $10.00 per person. (Added 2001, No. 147 (Adj. Sess.), § 2, eff. June 21, 2002; amended 2015, No. 149 (Adj. Sess.), § 42; 2017, No. 83, § 132; 2018, No. 1 (Sp. Sess.), § 84; 2019, No. 73, § 14.)