Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2023-2024 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

The Vermont Statutes Online have been updated to include the actions of the 2023 session of the General Assembly.

NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.

Title 7 : Alcoholic Beverages, Cannabis, and Tobacco

Chapter 023 : Beer and Wine Franchises


(Cite as: 7 V.S.A. § 707)
  • § 707. Sale or transfer; purchase by manufacturer

    (a) A wholesale dealer wishing to sell or otherwise transfer its interests in a franchise shall give at least 90 days’ written notice to the certificate of approval holder or manufacturer, prior to the sale or transfer. The notice of intended sale or transfer shall give the full name and address of the proposed transferee, along with full details outlining the qualifications of the proposed transferee that, in the opinion of the wholesale dealer, make the proposed transferee competent to operate the franchise.

    (b) In the event the certificate of approval holder or manufacturer wishes to resist the proposed sale or transfer to the proposed transferee, the certificate of approval holder or manufacturer shall petition the Superior Court for a hearing not later than 60 days prior to the date of the proposed sale or transfer. The petition shall clearly state the certificate of approval holder’s or manufacturer’s reasons for resisting the proposed sale or transfer.

    (c) Upon receipt of a petition brought resisting a sale or transfer, the Superior Court shall hold a hearing on the proposed transfer or sale. The court shall make a full inquiry into the qualifications of the proposed transferee and shall determine whether or not the proposed transferee is in a position to substantially continue the operations of the franchise, to assume the obligations of the franchise holder, and to conduct the business in a manner that will protect the legitimate interests of the certificate of approval holder or manufacturer.

    (d) If the Superior Court finds the proposed transferee to be qualified to operate the franchise, it shall approve the transfer of the franchise to the proposed transferee.

    (e) The provisions of subsections (b) through (d) of this section shall not apply to the sale or transfer of a franchise to the spouse, child, grandchild, sibling, parent, foster child, child-in-law, sibling-in-law, niece, or nephew of the owner of the wholesale dealer. (Added 1975, No. 199 (Adj. Sess.); amended 1983, No. 197 (Adj. Sess.), § 6; 2017, No. 83, § 127; 2017, No. 145 (Adj. Sess.), § 4, eff. Jan. 1, 2019; 2021, No. 105 (Adj. Sess.), § 152, eff. July 1, 2022.)