Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2021-2022 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

 

Title 7 : Alcoholic Beverages, Cannabis, and Tobacco

Chapter 009 : LICENSING

Subchapter 004 : TASTING AND EVENT PERMITS

(Cite as: 7 V.S.A. § 253)
  • § 253. Festival permits

    (a) The Division of Liquor Control may grant a festival permit if the applicant has:

    (1) received approval from the local control commissioners;

    (2) submitted a request for a festival permit to the Division in a form required by the Commissioner at least 15 days prior to the festival; and

    (3) paid the fee provided in section 204 of this title.

    (b) A festival required to be permitted under this section is any event that is open to the public for which the primary purpose is to serve one or more of the following: malt beverages, vinous beverages, fortified wines, or spirits.

    (c) A festival permit holder is permitted to conduct an event that is open to the public at which one or more of the following are served: malt beverages, vinous beverages, fortified wines, or spirits.

    (d) The permit holder shall ensure the following:

    (1) Attendees at the festival shall be required to pay an entry fee of not less than $5.00.

    (2)(A) Malt beverages for sampling shall be offered in glasses that contain not more than 12 ounces, with not more than 60 ounces served to any patron at one event.

    (B) Vinous beverages for sampling shall be offered in glasses that contain not more than five ounces with not more than 25 ounces served to any patron at one event.

    (C) Fortified wines for sampling shall be offered in glasses that contain not more than three ounces with not more than 15 ounces served to any patron at one event.

    (D) Spirits for sampling shall be offered in glasses that contain not more than one ounce with not more than five ounces served to any patron at one event.

    (E) Patrons attending a festival where combinations of malt, vinous, fortified wines, or spirits are mutually sampled shall not be served more than a combined total of six U.S. standard drinks containing 3.6 fluid ounces or 84 grams of pure ethyl alcohol.

    (3) The event shall be conducted in compliance with all the requirements of this title.

    (e)(1) A festival permit holder may purchase invoiced volumes of malt or vinous beverages directly from a manufacturer or packager licensed in Vermont or a manufacturer or packager that holds a federal Basic Permit or Brewers Notice or evidence of licensure in a foreign country that is satisfactory to the Board.

    (2) The invoiced volumes of malt or vinous beverages may be transported to the site and sold by the glass to the public by the permit holder or its employees and volunteers only during the event.

    (f) A festival permit holder shall be subject to the provisions of this title, including section 214 of this title, and the rules of the Board regarding the sale of the alcoholic beverages and shall pay the tax on the malt or vinous beverages pursuant to section 421 of this title.

    (g) A person shall be granted not more than four festival permits per year, and each permit shall be valid for not more than four consecutive days. (Added 2017, No. 83, § 50; amended 2018, No. 1 (Sp. Sess.), § 50; 2021, No. 70, § 3.)