Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2021-2022 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

 

Title 7 : Alcoholic Beverages, Cannabis, and Tobacco

Chapter 009 : LICENSING

Subchapter 001 : General Provisions

(Cite as: 7 V.S.A. § 213)
  • § 213. Licensee education

    (a) A new first-class, second-class, third-class, fourth-class, or manufacturer's or rectifier's license, or common carrier certificate shall not be granted until the applicant has attended a Division of Liquor Control in-person seminar or completed the appropriate Division of Liquor Control online training program for the purpose of being informed of the Vermont laws and rules pertaining to the purchase, storage, and sale of alcoholic beverages. A corporation, partnership, or association shall designate a director, partner, or manager who shall comply with the terms of this subsection.

    (b)(1) Every holder of a first-class, second-class, third-class, fourth-class, or manufacturer's or rectifier's license, or common carrier certificate shall complete the Division of Liquor Control in-person licensee training seminar or the appropriate Division of Liquor Control online training program at least once every two years. A corporation, partnership, or association shall designate a director, partner, or manager who shall comply with the terms of this subsection.

    (2) A first-class, second-class, third-class, fourth-class, or manufacturer's or rectifier's license shall not be renewed unless the Division's records show that the licensee has complied with the terms of this subsection.

    (c)(1) Each licensee, permittee, or common carrier certificate holder shall ensure that every employee who is involved in the delivery, sale, or serving of alcoholic beverages completes a training program approved by the Division of Liquor Control before the employee begins delivering, serving, or selling alcoholic beverages and at least once every 24 months thereafter. Each licensee shall maintain written documentation, signed by each employee trained, of each training program conducted.

    (2) A licensee may comply with this requirement by conducting its own training program on its premises, using information and materials furnished or approved by the Division of Liquor Control. A licensee who fails to comply with the requirements of this subsection shall be subject to a suspension of the license issued under this title for not less than one day or a fine of not more than $100.00, or both.

    (d) The following fees for Division of Liquor Control in-person or online seminars shall be paid:

    (1) For a first-class or first- and third-class licensee seminar either in-person or online, $25.00 per person.

    (2) For a second-class licensee seminar either in-person or online, $25.00 per person.

    (3) For a combination first-class, first- and third-class, and second-class licensee seminar either in-person or online, $25.00 per person.

    (4) For a manufacturer's or rectifier's, or fourth-class licensee seminar either in-person or online, $10.00 per person.

    (5) For common carrier seminars either in-person or online, $10.00 per person.

    (6) For all special event, festival, educational sampling, and special venue serving permit holders for either an in-person or online seminar, $10.00 per person.

    (e) Fees for all seminars listed in this section and under other sections of this title with regard to in-person or online training shall be deposited directly in the Liquor Control Enterprise Fund. (Added 1987, No. 103, § 4; amended 1993, No. 11, § 3, eff. April 27, 1993; 1999, No. 163 (Adj. Sess.), § 8; 2013, No. 64, § 5; 2015, No. 149 (Adj. Sess.), § 39; 2017, No. 83, § 32; 2017, No. 113 (Adj. Sess.), § 38; 2018, No. 1 (Sp. Sess.), § 35; 2019, No. 73, § 6.)