Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2023-2024 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

The Vermont Statutes Online have been updated to include the actions of the 2023 session of the General Assembly.

NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.

Title 7 : Alcoholic Beverages, Cannabis, and Tobacco

Chapter 003 : Restrictions and Prohibited Acts

(Cite as: 7 V.S.A. § 66)
  • § 66. Home-fermented malt and vinous beverages; tasting event

    (a) An individual of legal age may, without obtaining a license under this title or paying State taxes or fees, produce malt or vinous beverages, or both, at home, provided that the amount of home-fermented beverages produced by that individual does not exceed the quantities limitation in 26 U.S.C. §§ 5042 and 5053.

    (b) Home-fermented beverages produced pursuant to this section may be transported to and offered for tasting at an organized event, exhibition, or competition held for home-fermented beverages, provided all the following conditions are met:

    (1) The sponsor provides written notice of the event to the Division not later than 10 days prior to the date of the event. The notice shall include a description of the delineated area in which the tastings will be offered and, in the case of a competition, the names of the judges hired by the sponsor.

    (2) The public is not charged a fee for the tastings or for admission to the event, exhibition, or competition. However, the sponsor may charge a fee to the producers of home-fermented beverages for their participation in the event.

    (3) Tastings of home-fermented beverages are offered only within the delineated area specified in the notice to the Division.

    (4) No home-fermented beverages may be sold or offered for sale to the public, and all unused home-fermented beverages shall be disposed of by the permit holder.

    (5) The event will be conducted in compliance with all the requirements of this title.

    (6), (7) [Repealed.]

    (c) A person who sponsors an organized event, exhibition, or competition under this section or participates in the event as a producer of home-fermented beverages who violates any provision of this section may be fined not more than $1,000.00. (Added 1997, No. 158 (Adj. Sess.), § 5; amended 2007, No. 10, § 1, eff. April 26, 2007; 2017, No. 83, § 11; 2018, No. 1 (Sp. Sess.), § 7.)