Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2021-2022 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online


Title 6 : Agriculture


(Cite as: 6 V.S.A. § 792)
  • § 792. Establishment of Livestock Care Standards Advisory Council

    (a) There is established the Livestock Care Standards Advisory Council for the purposes of evaluating the laws of the State and of providing policy recommendations regarding the care, handling, and well-being of livestock in the State. The Livestock Care Standards Advisory Council shall be composed of the following members, all of whom shall be residents of Vermont:

    (1) The Secretary, who shall serve as the Chair of the Council.

    (2) The State Veterinarian.

    (3) The following six members appointed by the Governor:

    (A) A person with knowledge of food safety and food safety regulation in the State.

    (B) A person from a statewide organization that represents the beef industry.

    (C) A Vermont licensed livestock or poultry veterinarian.

    (D) A representative of an agricultural department of a Vermont college or university.

    (E) A representative of the Vermont slaughter industry.

    (F) A representative of the Vermont livestock dealer, hauler, or auction industry.

    (4) The following three members appointed by the Committee on Committees:

    (A) A producer of species other than bovidae.

    (B) An operator of a medium farm or large farm permitted by the Agency.

    (C) A professional in the care and management of equines and equine facilities.

    (5) The following three members appointed by the Speaker of the House:

    (A) An operator of a small Vermont dairy farm.

    (B) A representative of a local humane society from Vermont and organized under State law.

    (C) A person with experience investigating charges of animal cruelty involving livestock, provided that no such person who has received or is receiving compensation from a national humane society or organization may be appointed under this subdivision.

    (b) Members of the Council shall be appointed for staggered terms of three years. Except for the Chair, the State Veterinarian, and the representative of the agricultural department of a Vermont college or university, no member of the Council may serve for more than two consecutive full terms. Eight members of the Council shall constitute a quorum. If a vacancy on the Council occurs, a new member shall be appointed, in the same manner that his or her predecessor was appointed, to fill the unexpired term.

    (c) With the concurrence of the Chair, the Council may use the services and staff of the Agency in the performance of its duties. (Added 2009, No. 158 (Adj. Sess.), § 6; amended 2017, No. 30, § 2.)