Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2017-2018 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

Title 1 : General Provisions


(Cite as: 1 V.S.A. § 554)
  • § 554. National forest lands

    The consent of the State of Vermont is hereby given to the acquisition by the United States, by purchase, gift, or condemnation with adequate compensation, of such lands in Vermont with the approval of a Board consisting of the Governor, Lieutenant Governor, Attorney General, Commissioner of Forests, Parks and Recreation, and Secretary of Agriculture, Food and Markets in the following towns: Bristol, Lincoln, Warren, Ripton, Granville, Hancock, Rochester, Pittsfield, Chittenden, Goshen, Middlebury, Salisbury, Leicester, Brandon, Mendon, Stockbridge, Winhall, Londonderry, Peru, Dorset, Danby, Landgrove, Weston, Wallingford, Mt. Holly, Mt. Tabor, Stratton, Wardsboro, Dover, Wilmington, Whitingham, Readsboro, Searsburg, Sunderland, Manchester, Woodford, Stamford, Jamaica, Bennington, Pownal, Shaftsbury, Arlington, and Killington, and the unorganized towns of Glastenbury and Somerset, which in the opinion of the federal government and the State may be needed for the establishment, consolidation, and extension of national forests in the State. Land in the Town of Rupert and the Town of Sandgate may be considered by the Board for classification within boundaries of areas of the State in which the United States may acquire lands as National Forest lands, provided that the legislative body of the town has voted to allow such consideration after having been advised to do so by a majority of town residents voting in an advisory referendum on the question. Such Board shall act on a specific parcel only after it has the written approval of the legislative body or selectboard members of the town or supervisors of an unorganized town or gore wherein such land, or a part thereof is located. (Amended 1989, No. 224 (Adj. Sess.), eff. June 4, 1990; 2013, No. 161 (Adj. Sess.), § 72.)