Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2023-2024 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

The Vermont Statutes Online have been updated to include the actions of the 2023 session of the General Assembly.

NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.

Title 24: Municipal and County Government

Chapter 001: Division of State into Counties

  • § 1. Counties in State

    The State is divided into the counties of Addison, Bennington, Caledonia, Chittenden, Essex, Franklin, Grand Isle, Lamoille, Orange, Orleans, Rutland, Washington, Windham, and Windsor.

  • § 2. Addison

    The County of Addison is formed of the towns of Addison, Bridport, Bristol, Cornwall, Ferrisburgh, Goshen, Granville, Hancock, Leicester, Lincoln, Middlebury, Monkton, New Haven, Orwell, Panton, Ripton, Salisbury, Shoreham, Starksboro, Waltham, Weybridge, Whiting, the City of Vergennes, and so much of Lake Champlain as lies in this State west of the towns in the county adjoining the lake. Middlebury is the shire town.

  • § 3. Bennington

    The County of Bennington is formed of the towns of Arlington, Bennington, Dorset, Landgrove, Manchester, Peru, Pownal, Readsboro, Rupert, Sandgate, Searsburg, Shaftsbury, Stamford, Sunderland, Winhall, Woodford, and the unorganized township of Glastenbury. Bennington and Manchester are the shire towns.

  • § 4. Caledonia

    The County of Caledonia is formed of the towns of Barnet, Burke, Danville, Groton, Hardwick, Kirby, Lyndon, Newark, Peacham, Ryegate, St. Johnsbury, Sheffield, Stannard, Sutton, Walden, Waterford, and Wheelock. St. Johnsbury is the shire town.

  • § 5. Chittenden

    The County of Chittenden is formed of the towns of Bolton, Charlotte, Colchester, Essex, Hinesburg, Huntington, Jericho, Milton, Richmond, St. George, Shelburne, the City of South Burlington, Underhill, Westford, Williston, the City of Burlington, the City of Essex Junction, the City of Winooski, Buel’s Gore, and so much of Lake Champlain as lies in this State west of the towns in the county adjoining the lake and not included within the limits of the County of Grand Isle. The City of Burlington is the shire town. (Amended 1981, No. 239 (Adj. Sess.), § 26; 2021, No. 105 (Adj. Sess.), § 432a, eff. July 1, 2022.)

  • § 6. Essex

    The County of Essex is formed of the towns of Bloomfield, Brighton, Brunswick, Canaan, Concord, East Haven, Granby, Guildhall, Lemington, Lunenburg, Maidstone, Norton, Victory, Avery’s Gore, Warner’s Grant, Warren Gore, and the unorganized townships of Averill, Ferdinand, and Lewis. Guildhall is the shire town.

  • § 7. Franklin

    The County of Franklin is formed of the towns of Bakersfield, Berkshire, Enosburgh, Fairfax, Fairfield, Fletcher, Franklin, Georgia, Highgate, Montgomery, Richford, St. Albans, Sheldon, Swanton, the City of St. Albans, and that part of Lake Champlain and the islands lying west of the towns in the County adjoining the Lake and not included within the limits of the County of Grand Isle, but including Wood’s Island. The City of St. Albans is the shire town.

  • § 8. Grand Isle

    The County of Grand Isle is formed of the towns of Alburgh, Grand Isle, Isle La Motte, North Hero, and South Hero and is bounded as follows: beginning at the northwest corner of this State; thence running easterly on the north line of the State to the middle of the waters of Missisquoi Bay; thence through the middle of the waters of such bay, to a point equidistant from the north point of North Hero and the south point of Hog Island; thence southerly, as near as may be, through the center of the waters of Maquam Bay, but so far east as to include Butler’s Island, Knight’s Island, and Savage’s Island; thence southerly, through the waters of Lake Champlain, to a point equidistant from the south point of South Hero in the County of Grand Isle and Colchester Point in the County of Chittenden; thence westerly to the west line of this State; thence northerly on such line to the place of beginning. North Hero is the shire town.

  • § 9. Lamoille

    The County of Lamoille is formed of the towns of Belvidere, Cambridge, Eden, Elmore, Hyde Park, Johnson, Morristown, Stowe, Waterville, and Wolcott. Hyde Park is the shire town.

  • § 10. Orange

    The County of Orange is formed of the towns of Bradford, Braintree, Brookfield, Chelsea, Corinth, Fairlee, Newbury, Orange, Randolph, Strafford, Thetford, Topsham, Tunbridge, Vershire, Washington, West Fairlee, and Williamstown. Chelsea is the shire town.

  • § 11. Orleans

    The County of Orleans is formed of the towns of Albany, Barton, Brownington, Charleston, Coventry, Craftsbury, Derby, Glover, Greensboro, Holland, Irasburg, Jay, Lowell, Morgan, Newport, Troy, Westfield, and Westmore and the City of Newport. The City of Newport is the shire town.

  • § 12. Rutland

    The County of Rutland is formed of the towns of Benson, Brandon, Castleton, Clarendon, Chittenden, Danby, Fair Haven, Hubbardton, Ira, Killington, Mendon, Middletown Springs, Mount Holly, Mount Tabor, Pawlet, Pittsfield, Pittsford, Poultney, Proctor, Rutland, Shrewsbury, Sudbury, Tinmouth, Wallingford, Wells, West Haven, West Rutland, the City of Rutland, and so much of Lake Champlain as lies in this State west of the towns in the county adjoining the lake. The City of Rutland is the shire town. (Amended 1999, Municipal Act No. M-3, § 3.)

  • § 13. Washington

    The County of Washington is formed of the towns of Barre, Berlin, Cabot, Calais, Duxbury, East Montpelier, Fayston, Marshfield, Middlesex, Moretown, Northfield, Plainfield, Roxbury, Waitsfield, Warren, Waterbury, Woodbury, Worcester, and the cities of Barre and of Montpelier. The City of Montpelier is the shire town.

  • § 14. Windham

    The County of Windham is formed of the towns of Athens, Brattleboro, Brookline, Dover, Dummerston, Grafton, Guilford, Halifax, Jamaica, Londonderry, Marlboro, Newfane, Putney, Rockingham, Stratton, Townshend, Vernon, Wardsboro, Westminster, Whitingham, Wilmington, Windham, and the unorganized township of Somerset. Newfane is the shire town.

  • § 15. Windsor

    The County of Windsor is formed of the towns of Andover, Baltimore, Barnard, Bethel, Bridgewater, Cavendish, Chester, Hartford, Hartland, Ludlow, Norwich, Plymouth, Pomfret, Reading, Rochester, Royalton, Sharon, Springfield, Stockbridge, Weathersfield, Weston, West Windsor, Windsor, and Woodstock. Woodstock is the shire town.