The Vermont Statutes Online
§ 3700. Definition; mail
As used in this chapter, "mail," "mails," "mailing," and "mailed" mean any method of delivery authorized by the Commissioner, which shall include by hand, U.S. mail, and electronic transmission. (Added 2019, No. 149 (Adj. Sess.), § 19, eff. July 13, 2020.)
§ 3701. International Registration Plan
(a) The Commissioner of Motor Vehicles is authorized to enter into reciprocal agreements or plans on behalf of the State of Vermont with the appropriate authorities of any of the states of the United States, the District of Columbia, or any state or province of any country providing for the registration of commercial vehicles on an apportionment or allocation basis, and may, in the exercise of this authority, enter into and become a member of the International Registration Plan. Any such reciprocal agreement or Plan may provide for but shall not be limited to the following:
(1) full reciprocity in accordance with such agreement or Plan for commercial vehicles not based in Vermont, operated solely in interstate commerce and of specified types or gross weights, in exchange for equivalent reciprocity for Vermont based commercial vehicles;
(2) reciprocal exchange of audits of records of the owners of such commercial vehicles by the states participating in such agreement or Plan;
(3) any other matters that would facilitate the administration of such agreement or Plan, including exchange of information for audits, enforcement activities, and collection and disbursement of proportional registration fees for other jurisdictions in the case of Vermont based commercial vehicles.
(b) Any reciprocity agreement, arrangement, or declaration relating to commercial vehicles in effect between this State and any jurisdiction not a party to such reciprocal agreement or Plan, or that relates to any matters not covered in such reciprocal agreement or Plan, shall continue in force and effect until specifically amended or revoked as provided by law.
(c) At such time as the State of Vermont may enter into and become a member of the International Registration Plan pursuant to subsection (a) of this section, the provisions of said Plan which are concerned with the registration of any vehicle or the fees that relate to any such registration shall control whenever any provision of law conflicts with any provision of said Plan. (Added 1985, No. 124 (Adj. Sess.), § 1.)
§ 3702. Trip permit
Any vehicle registered in a jurisdiction other than Vermont that is eligible for apportioned registration under the International Registration Plan that is not apportioned with Vermont must obtain a trip permit prior to entering this State. The fee for the permit shall be $15.00. The permits shall be valid for a period of 72 hours and shall allow both interstate and intrastate operation. Trip permits must be kept with the vehicle while being operated. (Added 1987, No. 111, § 7.)
§ 3703. Temporary authorization
Any International Registration Plan registrant based in this State may apply by mail and be issued temporary authorization to operate a vehicle not in the registrant's fleet for a period not to exceed 45 days for a fee of $15.00. Any person to whom temporary authorization is issued shall submit an application by mail for permanent registration for the vehicle covered by the temporary authorization within 10 days of the date of its issuance. Failure to submit an application within the 10-day period may result in the suspension of the temporary authorization. The temporary authorization shall be kept with the vehicle while being operated. (Added 1987, No. 111, § 8; amended 1989, No. 84, § 7; 2019, No. 149 (Adj. Sess.), § 19, eff. July 13, 2020.)
§ 3704. Permit for empty weight
For a fee of $20.00, a permit may be issued to an owner-operator for a registered gross weight not in excess of the empty weight of the vehicle as provided for in Article IX(c) of the International Registration Plan for a period of 20 days. The permit shall be kept with the vehicle while being operated. (Added 1987, No. 111, § 9; amended 1989, No. 84, § 8.)
§ 3705. Collection of apportioned registration; credits and refunds
(a) The Commissioner shall postpone the collection of apportioned registration fees until the fees have been computed and any credit available pursuant to subsection 3020(a) of this title applied.
(b) The Commissioner shall mail notice of any fees due to the registrant, and payment of these fees must be received within 15 days of the date of the notice.
(c) Upon receipt of the proper fees, or after determining that no fees are owed due to credits available pursuant to subsection 3020(a) of this title, the Commissioner shall issue the necessary identification plates and cab cards.
(d) If the Commissioner determines that a fee required by this chapter was paid more than once, has been erroneously collected or computed, or for which the State was without power to impose, the excess amount paid or collected shall be credited to the account of the registrant maintained pursuant to subsection 3020(a) of this title and the registrant shall be notified of the date and amount of the credit by mail. (Added 1989, No. 189 (Adj. Sess.), § 1; amended 2019, No. 149 (Adj. Sess.), § 21, eff. July 13, 2020.)
§ 3706. License suspension or revocation
The Commissioner may suspend or revoke the license, the right to operate any vehicle, and any registrations of a person who fails to comply with any provisions of the International Registration Plan of this chapter or any rule adopted pursuant to this chapter. The suspension or revocation shall be effective upon not less than 15 days' notice unless within those 15 days the registrant mails a written request for a hearing to show cause why the suspension or revocation should not be effective. (Added 1989, No. 189 (Adj. Sess.), § 2; amended 2019, No. 149 (Adj. Sess.), § 19, eff. July 13, 2020.)