Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2021-2022 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

 

Title 18: Health

Chapter 026: CERTIFICATION OF ASBESTOS CONTRACTORS

  • § 1331. Definitions

    As used in this chapter:

    (1) "Asbestos" means the asbestiform varieties of chrysotile (serpentine); crocidolite (riebeckite); amosite (cummingtonite-grunerite); anthophyllite; tremolite; and actinolite.

    (2) "Asbestos abatement" means the repair, enclosure, removal, encapsulation, or any other activity for the evaluation or control of any material which contains more than one percent asbestos by weight.

    (3) "Commissioner" means the Commissioner of Health or the Commissioner's designee. (Added 1985, No. 238 (Adj. Sess.), eff. June 3, 1986.)

  • § 1332. Certification

    Any person may apply to the Commissioner for certification as an asbestos contractor permitted to perform asbestos abatement in the State of Vermont. Certification shall be granted to any person who meets the standards for certified asbestos contractors established by the Commissioner by rule. The Commissioner shall provide proof of certification to all successful applicants. The Commissioner shall maintain and, upon request, make available a list of asbestos contractors certified under this chapter. The Commissioner shall, by rule, establish procedures to be followed under this chapter. (Added 1985, No. 238 (Adj. Sess.), eff. June 3, 1986.)

  • § 1333. Notification of work

    Any contractor performing asbestos abatement work must notify the Commissioner 10 working days prior to beginning work. (Added 1985, No. 238 (Adj. Sess.), eff. June 3, 1986.)

  • § 1334. Application fees

    (a) The Commissioner shall require the payment of certification and permit fees at the time of application. The Commissioner shall not process an application for which fees have not been paid. No person shall perform asbestos abatement without obtaining certification and a permit from the Commissioner.

    (b) Certification and permit fees shall be:

    (1) Certification fees

    (A) Entities                                                                                           $600.00 Initial

                                                                                                                      $150.00 Additional

                (B) Consultants                                                                                    $180.00 Initial

                                                                                                                      $150.00 Additional

                (C) Analysts                                                                                                    $ 60.00

                (D) Workers                                                                                                    $ 60.00

                (E) Supervisors                                                                                              $120.00

                (F) Training courses–two-year period

                    Initial                                                                                                         $480.00

                    Refresher                                                                                                   $300.00

           (2) Permit fees

               (A) more than 10 square feet

               through 100 square feet                                                                                  $ 75.00

               (B) more than 10 linear feet

               through 100 linear feet                                                                                   $ 75.00

               (C) more than 100 square feet

               through 1,000 square feet                                                                              $150.00

               (D) more than 100 linear feet

               through 1,000 linear feet                                                                               $150.00

               (E) more than 1,000 square feet                                                                    $300.00

               (F) more than 1,000 linear feet                                                                     $300.00

               (G) permit revision charge                                                                            $ 50.00

    (c) Fees collected under this section shall be credited to a special fund and shall be available to the Department to offset the costs of providing these services. (Added 1989, No. 210 (Adj. Sess.), § 120; amended 1991, No. 5, § 35, eff. March 13, 1991; 1997, No. 155 (Adj. Sess.), § 58; 2007, No. 76, § 10.)