Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2021-2022 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online


Title 3: Executive


  • § 4001. Administrative districts; creation

    The following administrative districts are created, each to consist of the following towns and cities:

    (1) District 1: Benson, Brandon, Castleton, Chittenden, Clarendon, Danby, Fair Haven, Hubbardton, Ira, Mendon, Middletown Springs, Mt. Holly, Mt. Tabor, Pawlet, Pittsford, Poultney, Proctor, Rutland City, Rutland Town, Killington, Shrewsbury, Sudbury, Tinmouth, Wallingford, Wells, West Haven, and West Rutland.

    (2) District 2: Andover, Athens, Baltimore, Brattleboro, Brookline, Cavendish, Chester, Dover, Dummerston, Grafton, Guilford, Halifax, Jamaica, Londonderry, Ludlow, Marlboro, Newfane, Putney, Reading, Readsboro, Rockingham, Searsburg, Somerset, Springfield, Stratton, Townshend, Vernon, Wardsboro, Weathersfield, West Windsor, Westminster, Weston, Whitingham, Wilmington, Windham, Windsor, and Winhall.

    (3) District 3: Barnard, Bethel, Bradford, Braintree, Bridgewater, Brookfield, Chelsea, Corinth, Fairlee, Granville, Hancock, Hartford, Hartland, Newbury, Norwich, Pittsfield, Plymouth, Pomfret, Randolph, Rochester, Royalton, Sharon, Stockbridge, Strafford, Thetford, Topsham, Tunbridge, Vershire, West Fairlee, and Woodstock.

    (4) District 4: Addison, Bolton, Bridport, Bristol, Buels Gore, Burlington, Charlotte, Colchester, Cornwall, Essex, Ferrisburg, Goshen, Hinesburg, Huntington, Jericho, Leicester, Lincoln, Middlebury, Milton, Monkton, New Haven, Orwell, Panton, Richmond, Ripton, St. George, Salisbury, Shelburne, Shoreham, South Burlington, Starksboro, Underhill, Vergennes, Waltham, Westford, Waybridge, Whiting, Williston, and Winooski.

    (5) District 5: Barre City, Barre Town, Belvidere, Berlin, Cabot, Calais, Cambridge, Duxbury, East Montpelier, Eden, Elmor, Fayston, Hyde Park, Johnson, Marshfield, Middlesex, Montpelier, Moretown, Morristown, Northfield, Orange, Plainfield, Roxbury, Stowe, Waitsfield, Warren, Washington, Waterbury, Waterville, Williamstown, Wolcott, Woodbury, and Worcester.

    (6) District 6: Alburg, Bakersfield, Berkshire, Enosburg, Fairfax, Fairfield, Fletcher, Franklin, Georgia, Grand Isle, Highgate, Isle La Motte, Montgomery, North Hero, Richford, St. Albans City, St. Albans Town, Sheldon, South Hero, and Swanton.

    (7) District 7: Albany, Averill, Avery's Gore, Barnet, Barton, Bloomfield, Brighton, Brownington, Brunswick, Burke, Canaan, Charleston, Concord, Coventry, Craftsbury, Danville, Derby, East Haven, Ferdinand, Glover, Granby, Greensboro, Groton, Guildhall, Hardwick, Holland, Irasburg, Jay, Kirby, Lemington, Lewis, Lowell, Lunenburg, Lyndon, Maidstone, Morgan, Newark, Newport City, Newport Town, Norton, Peacham, Ryegate, St. Johnsbury, Sheffield, Stannard, Sutton, Troy, Victory, Walden, Warner's Gore, Warner's Grant, Waterford, Westfield, Westmore, and Wheelock.

    (8) District 8: Arlington, Bennington, Dorset, Glastenbury, Landgrove, Manchester, Peru, Pownal, Rupert, Sandgate, Shaftsbury, Stamford, Sunderland, and Woodford. (Added 1971, No. 74, § 3; amended 1972, E.O. No. 44, §§ 1, 2, dated Jan. 12, 1972.)

  • § 4002. District offices

    The following administrative districts may have a district office in the following towns and cities:

    (1) District 1: Rutland City

    (2) District 2: Brattleboro, Windsor, and Springfield

    (3) District 3: Hartford

    (4) District 4: Burlington City and Middlebury

    (5) District 5: Barre City and Morristown

    (6) District 6: St. Albans City

    (7) District 7: St. Johnsbury and Newport

    (8) District 8: Bennington. (Added 1971, No. 74, § 3; amended 1972, E.O. No. 44, § 3, dated Jan. 12, 1972; 1991, No. 158 (Adj. Sess.).)

  • § 4003. [Eliminated.] E.O. No. 44, § 4, dated Jan. 12, 1972.

  • § 4004. Organization

    Insofar as is practicable each State administrative agency, department, and council which is authorized to provide services on a regional or local level shall provide these services when so directed by Executive Order in each administrative district from offices located in the town or city in which a district office or subdistrict office is located. (Added 1971, No. 74, § 3.)

  • § 4005. Reorganization

    (a) The Governor may make such changes in the organization of the administrative districts as he considers necessary for efficiency by Executive Order. An Executive Order issued under this section shall be presented to the General Assembly not later than January 15th of the year in which the General Assembly sits. The Executive Order shall become effective unless disapproved by resolution of either House of the General Assembly within 90 days, or before final adjournment of that annual session, whichever comes first.

    (b) Executive Orders which become effective under this chapter shall be printed with the session laws and published in an appendix to the Vermont Statutes Annotated. (Added 1971, No. 74, § 3.)