Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2017-2018 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

Title 32 : Taxation and Finance

Chapter 017 : FEES AND COSTS

Subchapter 009 : VITAL REGISTRATION

(Cite as: 32 V.S.A. § 1715)
  • § 1715. Vital records search

    (a) Upon payment of a $10.00 fee, the Commissioner of Health or the Vermont State Archives and Records Administration shall provide certified copies of vital records or shall ascertain and certify what the vital records available to the Commissioner and the Vermont State Archivist show, except that the Commissioner and the Vermont State Archivist shall not copy the word "illegitimate" from any birth certificate furnished. The fee for the search of the vital records is $3.00 which is credited toward the fee for the first certified copy based upon the search.

    (b) Fees collected under this section shall be credited to special funds established and managed pursuant to subchapter 5 of chapter 7 of this title, and shall be available to the charging departments to offset the costs of providing those services. (Added 1967, No. 278 (Adj. Sess.), § 26; amended 1975, No. 8, § 2; 1979, No. 56, § 11; 1975, No. 142 (Adj. Sess.), § 20; 1985, No. 224 (Adj. Sess.), § 4; 1995, No. 148 (Adj. Sess.), § 4(c)(2), eff. May 6, 1996; 1997, No. 59, § 8, eff. June 30, 1997; 2001, No. 143 (Adj. Sess.), § 63, eff. June 21, 2002; 2003, No. 163 (Adj. Sess.), § 9a; 2007, No. 76, § 21; 2007, No. 153 (Adj. Sess.), § 27; 2011, No. 3, § 93, eff. Feb. 17, 2011.)