Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2017-2018 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

Title 32 : Taxation and Finance

Chapter 017 : FEES AND COSTS

Subchapter 009 : VITAL REGISTRATION

(Cite as: 32 V.S.A. § 1712)
  • [Section 1712 effective until July 1, 2018; see also section 1712 effective July 1, 2018 set out below.]

    § 1712. Town clerks

    Town clerks shall receive the following fees in the matter of vital registration:

    (1) For issuing and recording a civil marriage or civil union license, $60.00 to be paid by the applicant, $10.00 of which sum shall be retained by the town clerk as a fee, $35.00 of which shall be deposited in the Domestic and Sexual Violence Special Fund created by 13 V.S.A. § 5360, and $15.00 of which sum shall be paid by the town clerk to the State Treasurer in a return filed quarterly upon forms furnished by the State Treasurer and specifying all fees received by him or her during the quarter. Such quarterly period shall be as of the first day of January, April, July, and October.

    (2) $1.00 for other copies made under the provisions of 18 V.S.A. § 5009 to be paid by the town.

    (3) $2.00 for each birth certificate completed or corrected under the provisions of 15 V.S.A. §§ 449 and 816 and 18 V.S.A. §§ 5073, 5075-5078, for the correction of each civil marriage certificate under the provisions of 15 V.S.A. § 816, and 18 V.S.A. § 5150, for the correction or completion of each civil union certificate under the provisions of 18 V.S.A. § 5168, and for each death certificate corrected under the provisions of 18 V.S.A. § 5202a, to be paid by the town.

    (4) $1.00 for each certificate of facts relating to births, deaths, civil unions, and marriages, transmitted to the Commissioner of Health in accordance with the provisions of 18 V.S.A. § 5010. Such sum, together with the cost of binding the certificate shall be paid by the town.

    (5) Fees for vital records shall be equivalent to those received by the Commissioner of Health or the Vermont State Archivist pursuant to subsection 1715(a) of this title. (Amended 1959, No. 171, §§ 11-14; 1971, No. 84, § 15; 1979, No. 142 (Adj. Sess.), § 19; 1981, No. 123 (Adj. Sess.), § 1; 1985, No. 204 (Adj. Sess.), § 2; 1993, No. 170 (Adj. Sess.), § 14; 1997, No. 59, § 8a, eff. June 30, 1997; 1999, No. 91 (Adj. Sess.), § 19; 2001, No. 65, § 32c; 2005, No. 202 (Adj. Sess.), § 9a; 2007, No. 76, § 33e, eff. June 7, 2007; 2007, No. 174 (Adj. Sess.), § 21; 2009, No. 3, § 12a, eff. Sept. 1, 2009; 2009, No. 91 (Adj. Sess.), § 14, eff. May 6, 2010; 2011, No. 162 (Adj. Sess.), § E.220.3; 2015, No. 149 (Adj. Sess.), § 35.)

  • [Section 1712 effective July 1, 2018; see also section 1712 effective until July 1, 2018 set out below.]

    § 1712. Town clerks

    Town clerks shall receive the following fees for issuing marriage licenses and vital event certificates:

    (1) For issuing and recording a civil marriage license, $60.00 to be paid by the applicant, $10.00 of which sum shall be retained by the town clerk as a fee, $35.00 of which shall be deposited in the Domestic and Sexual Violence Special Fund created by 13 V.S.A. § 5360, and $15.00 of which sum shall be paid by the town clerk to the State Treasurer in a return filed quarterly upon forms furnished by the State Treasurer and specifying all fees received by him or her during the quarter. Such quarterly period shall be as of the first day of January, April, July, and October.

    (2) [Repealed.]

    (3) [Repealed.]

    (4) [Repealed.]

    (5) Fees for vital event certificates shall be charged and allocated as specified in 18 V.S.A. § 5017. (Amended 1959, No. 171, §§ 11-14; 1971, No. 84, § 15; 1979, No. 142 (Adj. Sess.), § 19; 1981, No. 123 (Adj. Sess.), § 1; 1985, No. 204 (Adj. Sess.), § 2; 1993, No. 170 (Adj. Sess.), § 14; 1997, No. 59, § 8a, eff. June 30, 1997; 1999, No. 91 (Adj. Sess.), § 19; 2001, No. 65, § 32c; 2005, No. 202 (Adj. Sess.), § 9a; 2007, No. 76, § 33e, eff. June 7, 2007; 2007, No. 174 (Adj. Sess.), § 21; 2009, No. 3, § 12a, eff. Sept. 1, 2009; 2009, No. 91 (Adj. Sess.), § 14, eff. May 6, 2010; 2011, No. 162 (Adj. Sess.), § E.220.3; 2015, No. 149 (Adj. Sess.), § 35; 2017, No. 46, § 61, eff. July 1, 2018.)