Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2017-2018 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

Title 10 Appendix : Vermont Fish and Wildlife Regulations

Chapter 001 : GAME

Subchapter 003 : QUADRUPEDS

(Cite as: 10 App. V.S.A. § 36)
  • § 36. Youth hunting day-Deer

    (1)(a) On the Sunday prior to the opening day of the regular deer season a resident who is under 16 years of age and has received a permit upon successful completion of a hunter firearms safety course may take one (1) wild deer with one antler at least three inches in length.

    (b) However, if the Fish and Wildlife Board determines that taking of antlerless deer will be allowed then the Wildlife Management Units where this will be allowed and numbers of antlerless deer that may be taken will be adopted by rule, relating to the taking of antlerless deer.

    (c) If a deer of either sex may be taken, as determined by (a) and (b), then the limit shall be one deer.

    (2) Issuance of Tags; Proof of Residency:

    Proof of satisfactory compliance in a hunter firearms safety course and proof of residency must be presented before the issuance of a tag.

    (3) Nonresidents will not be eligible for this hunt.

    (4) To hunt under this section each person shall hold a valid hunting license under 10 V.S.A. § 4255, except a minor of a landowner pursuant to 10 V.S.A. § 4253. (10 V.S.A. § 4742(b))

    (5) Each person hunting under this section shall be accompanied by an unarmed adult who holds a valid hunting license and who is over 18 years of age. (10 V.S.A. § 4742(b))

    (6) An adult accompanying a youth under this section shall accompany no more than two (2) permittees at one time. (10 V.S.A. § 4742(b))

    (7) No person shall hunt under this section on privately owned land without first obtaining the permission of the owner or occupant. (10 V.S.A. § 4742(d))

    (8) Tagging:

    A deer taken pursuant to this section shall immediately be tagged upon being taken into a person's possession by attaching the tag to the deer carcass. The tag shall be placed on the deer carcass in a location that is open to view. Such tag shall remain on the deer carcass during possession and transportation and until such time that the animal is cut up for consumption.

    A person shall not transport parts of a deer taken under this section unless the parts or package containing them are marked with a name and address of the person who killed the deer. (10 V.S.A. App. § 2a)

    (9) Reporting:

    A person taking a deer pursuant to this section shall within 48 hours report the taking and exhibit the carcass to the nearest Game Warden, official Fish & Wildlife Department Reporting Station, or to a person designated by the Commissioner to receive the reports.

    No deer taken under this section shall be transported out of the State without first being reported as required herein. (10 V.S.A. App. § 2(a))

    (10) A person taking a deer under a permit pursuant to this regulation and 10 V.S.A. § 4742 will be eligible to take a deer during the regular deer season and other remaining open seasons if they have not taken three deer in the calendar year as prescribed in 10 V.S.A. § 4753. (Added 1997, Fish and Wildlife Commissioner's Reg. No. 1019, eff. Aug 2, 1997 and No. 1019, eff. Sept. 8, 1998.)