Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2017-2018 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

Title 9 : Commerce and Trade


(Cite as: 9 V.S.A. § 6002)
  • [Section 6002 repealed effective July 1, 2018.]

    § 6002. Vermont Financial Literacy Commission

    (a) There is created a Vermont Financial Literacy Commission to measurably improve the financial literacy and financial capability of Vermont's citizens.

    (b) The Commission shall be composed of the following members:

    (1) the Vermont State Treasurer or designee;

    (2) the Secretary of Education or designee;

    (3) one representative of the Executive Branch, appointed by the Governor, who is an employee of an agency or department that conducts financial literacy education outreach efforts in Vermont, including the Department for Children and Families, Agency of Commerce and Community Development, Department of Financial Regulation, Department of Labor, Department of Libraries, or the Commission on Women, but not including the Agency of Education;

    (4) a k-12 public school financial literacy educator appointed by the Vermont-NEA;

    (5) one representative of k-12 public school administration, currently serving as a school board member, superintendent, or principal, appointed by the Governor based on nominees submitted by the Vermont School Board Association, the Vermont Superintendents Association, and the Vermont Principals Association;

    (6) two representatives focused on collegiate financial literacy issues:

    (A) the President of the Vermont Student Assistance Corporation or designee; and

    (B) one representative appointed by the Governor from the Vermont State Colleges, the University of Vermont, or an independent college in Vermont;

    (7) two representatives, each from a nonprofit entity that provides financial literacy and related services to persons with low income:

    (A) one appointed by the Governor; and

    (B) one appointed by the Office of Economic Opportunity from among candidates proposed by the Community Action Agencies;

    (8) one representative from Vermont's banking industry appointed by the Vermont Bankers Association, and one representative from Vermont's credit union industry appointed by the Association of Vermont Credit Unions; and

    (9) one member of the public, appointed by the Governor.

    (c) The Treasurer or designee and another member of the Commission, appointed by the Governor, who is not an employee of the State of Vermont, shall serve as co-chairs of the Commission.

    (d)(1) Each member shall serve for a three-year term, provided that the Treasurer shall have the authority to designate whether an initial term for each appointee shall be for a one-, two-, or three-year initial term in order to ensure that no more than one-third of the terms expire in any given year.

    (2) A vacancy shall be filled by the appointing authority as provided in subsection (a) of this section for the remainder of the term.

    (3) A member of the Commission who is not an employee of the State of Vermont and who is not otherwise compensated or reimbursed for his or her attendance at a meeting of the Commission shall be entitled to per diem compensation and reimbursement of expenses pursuant to 32 V.S.A. § 1010.

    (e) The Commission may request from any branch, division, department, board, commission, or other agency of the State or any entity that receives State funds, such information as will enable the Commission to perform its duties as required in this chapter. (Added 2015, No. 55, § 3; 2015, No. 97 (Adj. Sess.), § 18; 2015, No. 157 (Adj. Sess.), § R.1, eff. July 2, 2016.)