115 State Street
Montpelier, VT 05633-5301
Tel: (802) 828-2228
Statehouse Seal
Senate Chamber
  • Sen. Dick Mazza, Chair
  • Sen. Thomas Chittenden, Vice Chair
  • Sen. Jane Kitchel
  • Sen. Andrew Perchlik
  • Sen. Russ Ingalls, Clerk

Senate Committee on Transportation




Room 3 and Zoom

February 14, 2023 - February 17, 2023

Last Updated 2/24/2023 9:11 AM


Unless otherwise noted, all meetings are livestreamed at https://legislature.vermont.gov/committee/streaming/senate-transportation.

Tuesday, February 14, 2023

9:30 AM                   Senate Floor


10:00 AM                   Paving Association

Nick Sherman, Lobbyist, Paving Association of Vermont

Tyson Chouinard, Contracts Administrator, Pike Industries


10:45 AM                   Break


11:00 AM                   Foster Children and Driver Education

Barbara Brody, Teacher, Vermont Driver and Traffic Safety Education Association

Joe Barch, President, American Driver Traffic Safety Education Association

Leslie Schwartz, Director of the Youth Development Program, Spectrum Youth and Family Services


12:00 PM                   Adjourn


Wednesday, February 15, 2023

9:00 AM                   Town Highway Grant Programs; TH Structures & TH Class II

Joel Perrigo, Municipal Assistance Program Manager, Agency of Transportation

Bradley Kukenberger, Chief Financial Officer, Agency of Transportation


9:30 AM                   Department of Motor Vehicles Modernization

Lisa Gauvin, JFO Consultant, Joint Fiscal Office


10:15 AM                   Break


10:30 AM                   Lamoille Valley Rail Trail

Jackie Cassino, Rail Trail Program Manager, Agency of Transportation


11:30 AM                   Grand Isle / North Hero Drawbridge Project Overview

Doug Bonneau, Regional Construction Engineer, Agency of Transportation

Todd Law, Deputy Division Director, District Maintenance and Fleet Division, Agency of Transportation


12:00 PM                   Adjourn


1:00 PM                   Senate Floor


Thursday, February 16, 2023

9:00 AM                   S. 99 - An act relating to miscellaneous changes to laws related to vehicles

Wanda Minoli, Commissioner, Department of Motor Vehicles

Michael Smith, Deputy Commissioner, Department of Motor Vehicles

Anthea Dexter-Cooper, Legislative Counsel, Office of Legislative Counsel


10:15 AM                   Break


10:30 AM                   Joint Assembly

Election of the Sergeant of Arms

Elections of Trustees for the University of Vermont and Vermont State Agricultural College


12:00 PM                   Adjourn


1:00 PM                   Senate Floor


Friday, February 17, 2023

9:00 AM                   VTrans Transportation Management Center and Intelligent Transportation Technology

Ian Kilburn, TMC Supervisor, Agency of Transportation

Ryan Knapp, Intelligent Transformation Systems

Josh Schultz, State Signal & ITS Engineer, Agency of Transportation


10:15 AM                   Break


10:30 AM                   Exit 16 Diverging Diamond Interchange Project Overview

Mike Lacroix, Project Manager, Agency of Transportation


11:30 AM                   Senate Floor




Please email handouts to the committee assistant at least 24 hours before your scheduled meeting time. With few exceptions, any documents you send to a committee assistant are open to the public and may be posted to the committee’s web page.


If you have any questions or comments, please contact

 Mike Bailey at mbailey@leg.state.vt.us