115 State Street
Montpelier, VT 05633-5301
Tel: (802) 828-2228
Statehouse Seal
General Assembly
  • Rep. Alice M. Emmons, Vice Chair
  • Sen. Virginia "Ginny" Lyons
  • Sen. Kesha Ram Hinsdale
  • Sen. Irene Wrenner
  • Sen. Robert Norris
  • Sen. Nader Hashim
  • Sen. Philip Baruth
  • Rep. Martin LaLonde
  • Rep. Francis McFaun
  • Rep. Trevor Squirrell
  • Rep. Theresa Wood

Joint Legislative Justice Oversight Committee




Room 10 and Zoom

July 2, 2024

Last Updated 7/2/2024 2:42 PM


Unless otherwise noted, all meetings are livestreamed at


10:25 AM                   Update on Bills

Benjamin Novogroski, Legislative Counsel, Office of Legislative Counsel


11:30 AM                   Update on Department of Corrections

Staffing, Population report, Justice Reinvestment II

Al Cormier, Chief of Operations, Department of Corrections

Kristin Calver, Deputy Commissioner, Department of Corrections

Isaac Dayno, Executive Director of Policy and Strategic Initiatives, Department of Corrections

Aviva Tevah, Executive Director of Health, Wellness and Engagement, Department of Corrections


12:00 PM                   Lunch


1:10 PM                   Update on Court System

Judge Thomas Zonay, Chief Superior Judge, Vermont Judiciary


2:00 PM                   Justice Reinvestment II

Funding impact

Aimee Pope, Associate Fiscal Officer, Joint Fiscal Office


2:30 PM                   Committee  Discussion

Meeting schedule, topics for future legislation


2:40 PM                   Adjourn




Please email handouts to the committee assistant at least 24 hours before your scheduled meeting time. With few exceptions, any documents you send to a committee assistant are open to the public and may be posted to the committee’s web page.


Should you require accessibility services, please click here and note that requests should be made 48 hours in advance of testimony.




If you have any questions or comments, please contact

 Megan Cannella at mcannella@leg.state.vt.us